We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your average well located motel.”

William Dutton Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
William Dutton Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Your average well located motel.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights as part of a bus tour group - had room 20 on the first level, faced the main road but no problem with traffic noise.The room was a bit dated but had a comfortable double bed, carpet on the floor still in good shape,TV in the room, also had a 2 seater sofa and a small rectangle table with 2 chairs.Coffee and tea making facilities, jug,microwave oven which came in handy, and a bar fridge to put a few supplies in. Basic bathroom and facilities and a small shower with a curtain good enough to stop any outflow of water.
Breakfast supplied to room was better than usual continental breakfast as got a choice of scrambled eggs and bacon and toast, poached eggs and toast, spaghetti and toast (unusual as would normally be baked beans?), or for something different you could have pancakes and honey.
Short walk to the main street and shops and only one block away from the beachfront which is a lovely interesting area, and of course a lot of historic sights to take in.
Although a dated motel it was a perfect location for a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My family and I stayed at this motel a couple of times (as we booked both visits at once) and booked the two bedroom apartment which was quite roomy, a room with two single beds and tv (which the kids thought was great!), a larger room with double bed and table and chairs with a couch and large tv and a kitchenette when you walk into the room. The double bed was comfortable but had an old fashioned blanket which didn't allow for a good night sleep as well as being right near the road, traffic noise was loud especially on the Saturday night. The large room was dull with very little natural light and the bathroon was very small with no real room or shelves for cosmetics and the shower was tiny with a shower curtain. The room was clean and handy for us as the location was terrific on the main road and was right next to a great cafe - Pickled Pelican. It is old fashioned and you certainly get what you pay for. On our last visit which was a particularly hot weekend the air conditioner did not work. The front of the rooms are full of cobwebs and very dusty. On a positive, the owners were very helpful and had great town knowledge however, we will not stay here again and have since found more modern accomodation

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhat2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Jan for 1 night, while we drove from Adelaide to Melbourne.

We were welcomed by the friendly owner & stayed in Room 20. The room was clean, if a little dated but had everything we needed. Good tv channels, cold water in the fridge & a few toiletries were an added plus.

The owner pointed out some good places to eat & is a pleasant walk to the centre of town. Portland is a great place to stop & would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed jan 2013, we had room 6 on the ground floor. Room was a little dated but saying that it was very clean and presentable.. Bed was lovely and comfy, with plenty of pillows which were also of good quality. Linen and towels were of good quality and lovely and clean. LCD TV and a few Austar channels as well.

Bathroom had everything you needed. Hot powerful shower, with shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Basin had hand liquid, hand and body moisturiser and shaving cream. This was also extremely clean.

Breakfast was ok and delivered to our room at the specified time. Kettle, toaster, tea and coffee etc all supplied, and not just 2 or everything. A pleasant surprise.

Internet cost a extra $10 but the room was reasonably priced so we were happy to pay for the Internet.

A walking distance to everything in town.

Would stay again if we return to portland.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahunts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here on 2/1/2013. We got a good welcome and found the recently refurbished room to be of a high standard. Everything abuot it was very good.Beds were comfy, air con worked well, shower was good, all bathroom needs were in the room. Would definitely stay here again. The hosts were very friendly and informative about attractions and events in their area. The location is a short walk to the city centre. There are a number of eating and drinking establishments nearby.Our trip to Portland was unexpected but we found it a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLoughlins Beach
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent 4 days at the William Dutton, the rooms were clean and comfy, good value in this price range of motel. Although it was on the main road we were not disturbed by any noise, and the management were friendly and helpful. We would be happy to stay here again the next time we visit Portland

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tailz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerang
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Good value for money, clean, comfortable and great location. We had 3 people stay in the one room, double and single bed. Beds were comfy, got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admella Motel
Admella Motel
#4 of 7 in Portland
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Portland Retro Motel
Portland Retro Motel
#5 of 7 in Portland
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 7 in Portland
90 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cape Nelson Lighthouse Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Dutton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Dutton Motel

Property: William Dutton Motel
Address: 141 Percy St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — William Dutton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your William Dutton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Dutton Motel Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing