We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be called Mac's Hotel !!! NOT Quality Hotel Bentinck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“should be called Mac's Hotel !!! NOT Quality Hotel Bentinck”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hubby and I went down to Portland as he had to do some work there for the day so I looked up this hotel as it was close to the main shopping strip so I could spend the day walking around. The address of this hotel is 41 Bentinck Street so plugged that into the GPS which took us past the hotel and straight down the road to a residential house. Tried to find the hotel by driving up and down Bentinck St 3 more times and were finally going to give up when I spotted the smallest ever sign on the street pole opposite the hotel pointing down Gawler Street. On going right into Gawler St I then by sheer luck saw another tiny sign on the side of the building with Quality Hotel Bentinck next to a glass door which was actually the reception. So it's almost impossible to find the place because on the top of the Hotel it clearly and in very large letters say MAC'S HOTEL. also if the address had said on the corner of Bentinck and Gawler then it would have been much easier to find. so after the frustration of driving around for 20 min's to even find the place we park and go inside to the reception which was deserted. we stand and wait...and wait.... and wait... and finally a guy sees us and says Oh hi I'll get someone for you.... Ok so we stand and we wait again till a nice young lady comes to book us in.... we explain we are only here for the night and my husband was getting up VERY EARLY to go to do a service call the next morning so she starts going through the room options and we pick one and she says can she have a C/C to process so that we can pay in the morning. Also she offers us a discount on a room for $166.00 for some reason I can't remember due to lack of sleep... explanation to follow
My husbands says he would prefer to pay with our business debit card so that I can just book out after breakfast and she says...oh ok but then you have to pay the full price of $175 .... WT???? by now my husband has decided he just want's to book the room and relax after a 5 hour drive so agrees and the transaction is done and paid for
The room itself was very nice and on the 2nd floor (room 23) but I totally regret using this hotel as that night there was a DJ in the bar downstairs which kept us awake till 12.47 am and the patrons enjoying the music and drinking were very vocal as well.
after we booked in we decided to have dinner in the Bistro downstairs and went down to have a few drinks before dinner.... the receptionist who had booked us in said they were pretty busy but she would come and get us in the bar as soon as a table was ready..... we walked into the bar around 6.30 and by 8.45 we had had enough of waiting and decided to go elsewhere to eat... as we had to walk through the bistro to leave we noticed that there were several empty tables.... in fact it was half empty and our friendly receptionist was no where to be seen.... NOT HAPPY and starving we walked the few metres to the next bistro down the road and were seated, served and fed within an hour. It would have been nice of them to put us in a room as far as possible from the bar knowing full well that they would be having loud music especially when we explained the situation on booking in. Won't stay there again as it's pricey and can probably find just as good accommodation further down the road without the noise factor

Room Tip: don't stay on a friday night when they have a live DJ if you want to sleep... not going to happe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shaffycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
25
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Portland is not by itself a very attractive town but it has some nice old buildings and this hotel is one of them. Actually the hitel is more like a B&B but quite comfortable with old fashioned furniture. Very quiet as well. Breakfast is ok. Very reasonable price altogether.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in the king suite on the 2nd floor - separate bathroom with lovely shower and big bath. Beautifully appointed. The room overlooked the harbour. Bed extremely comfortable. One picky thing to be addressed. No note pad or pen to take a phone message received on mobile. (I know - that is being picky). We ate in the restaurant and the meal was quite nice, even though the staff seemed to be under a bit of pressure. No table service for drinks etc. but that is OK - it is a pub.
The continental breakfast - just as well it was included in the price!!! otherwise you would not pay for it. We arrived a little after 7 - no glasses out for juice - one porridge bowl was available - only skim milk was on offer (the full cream was empty) (I will add it didn't matter as we only have skim but not the point). The coffee pot was almost empty and the bit remaining was cold and we had to ask for plates for our toast. The lady in charge of the room was quite abrupt and I felt I was imposing on her time asking for basic china and cutlery in order to partake of the quite measly offerings. Bit of a let down on an otherwise very nice establishment. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with our luggage (both on arrival and departure). Wuld recommend, but don't bother with the breakfast (even if it is included in the price).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business. The Bentinck is a fairly traditional style pub with some good accommodation attached. Rooms were large, comfortable, old style, basic by modern standards but functional and very pleasant. Staff were we're very welcoming, helpful and seem genuinely friendly. I ate in the pub/restaurant both nights and it was a reasonable pub style meal - hearty and tasty. Breakfast was good and I enjoyed the best scrambled eggs and bacon I have had in a long time.
Bed was comfortable and I slept well. Some traffic noise but was pretty quiet after 1030. Lots of character about the whole place which was made even better by all of the historical paintings and photos of Portland. Have stayed in a few other places in town but will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We loved our stay in Portland! We hadn't booked anything on our way along the Great Ocean Road so landed here by accident. We stayed in the 4 star section which was well worth it in our opinion. Room was clean and cosy and the bed was sooo comfy! Great bathroom and shower. We slept very soundly! Brekky in the morning was quite good for a continental. We walked a few minutes to a lovely restaurant over looking the Harbour. Drove out to the lighthouse the next day. I regret we didn't have more time as there seemed to be quite a bit of history in the area which we didn't get time tot explore. We would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedcampaigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed on the third floor facing the secondary street. It was quieter since first we were shown the room facing the back, and the air con unit humming was loud. Always see the room first before showing your credit card, you'll get a better room with a small price! The room is seriously spacious, bed is king size and comfy. Bathroom is very large and with bathtub. The building is still very original, with nice carpeted grand staircase from old era. We pay $180 (no booking prior) on a public holiday. Continental breakfast bread wasn't very good though (included in the price).

Room Tip: dont choose room to the rear (air con sound despite the double glazing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2013

before booking 2 rooms in this motel, I already read the review written by others. the motel seems not impressive at all. but yesterday my family was forced to go there, because we planned to stay in Warnnumbool, but all accomadation were full, i was told evey year there's speed-way event hold in milk stadium? i'm not too sure. so we move to portland.
and we are very happy, because:
1. good location. we drive to the sea and saw the harbour,and the motel is just opposite the harbour.
2.clean streets and fresh air, a good first impression.
3.clean room, but no microwave.
4.good sleep, no noise at all. that's different from other reviews.
5.good breakfast, but we couldn't find rubbish bin.
6.good decoration of the hotel, many pictures hang on the wall, so we know a little history of the city, and the people who came to Portland in 19th century.and the story of wrecked ship, called "Admella"?
In a word, we have to say, we are happy to stay in quality hotel bentinck, and the city Portland - the birthplace of Victoria.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annesley House
Annesley House
#2 of 7 in Portland
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melaleuca Motel
Melaleuca Motel
#3 of 7 in Portland
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Richmond Henty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Bentinck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bentinck

Property: Quality Hotel Bentinck
Address: 41 Bentinck St | Corner Bentinck & Gawler Street, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Bentinck 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Quality Hotel Bentinck was awarded The Glenelg Shire’s Top Accommodation in the 2017 Tourism Awards. Built in 1856, it has been tastefully restored to its former grandeur, boasting original heritage décor, coupled gracefully with modern luxury. Our beautiful, heritage designed guest rooms offer the convenience of mini bars, tea and coffee making facilities, cable and free to air via a flat screen television, reverse cycle heating and air conditioning, irons and ironing boards. Select rooms include whirlpool tubs or spa baths and, although all of our rooms are designated as ‘non-smoking areas’, A complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast is served 7 days a week. We have onsite parking and most of our rooms have partial or full Harbour Views. We offer two on-site dining destinations which serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner seven days a week. Additional hotel amenities include hair dryer, bath amenities, free WiFi anda gymnasium centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Bentinck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Bentinck Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing