We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous experience”
Review of Seals by Sea Tours

Seals by Sea Tours
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Portland
Attraction details
san jose
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It is a bit of a hike down to the boat, but easy and well worth it. We had a great time viewing the seals and the boat ride.
There is just a little shack at the end of the trail that holds life jackets, no facilities of any type.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Late start. Didn't get what we paid for”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Arrived at 1.40 pm as I was told we needed to be at jetty at 1.50 to pay, be fitted with life jackets and board the boat for 2.00 pm departure. We were told we needed to wait for 2 more passengers that we're running late. Finally they arrived and we left the jetty at 2.25 pm. We did our tour and arrived back at the jetty at 3.00 pm.
When I booked this tour I was told we would have 45 minutes on the boat to experience the seals but only had about 25 minutes plus travel time.
The seals were fantastic, it was just a shame we didn't get to experience them for the amount of time we had paid for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Ring before you go, otherwise the operator may decide not to run!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We had done this trip before and found it was all that people have said, so we wanted to take our grandson. In fact we travelled to Portland just to this take excursion. However the operator would only do the run if he had either 6 or 8 passengers - it varied phone call to phone call - and as we were only 3 he sent his boat staff away. I later asked what he would have charged just to take us out and when told $150 I said that I would pay it - but he then had nobody to skipper the boat.

If you are in the tourist business, especially in December, you have to be prepared to run the occasional loss making excursion, for the sake of preserving your reputation. The only exception to going out ought to be bad weather.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Onepoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful trip viewing seals and the spectacular coastline. Well worth the effort to get there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Perseus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great trip!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As a group of 17 ranging from 5 to 79 what a wonderful adventure we had. What started with a 15 minute easy stroll ended in smiles and cheers from everyone. Jo, our driver and guide was full of information not just about the seals but also local knowledge. Our group went in 2 boat trips and we were both ready to share and compare sights on our return. The boat trip was very safe and actually the faster the boat went the bigger everyone's smiles became. Thanks Jo for a great trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seals by Sea Tours also viewed

 

Been to Seals by Sea Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing