We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's called a farytale for a reason”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Stahovica, Upper Carniola Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Eva P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's called a farytale for a reason”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Velika Planina on it's own is for me one of the most amazing places in Slovenia. And coming to a cottage like this is just a fairytale. There is no other cottage close by and you have a view of the mountains right from the common room. For us the fire place and the sauna were amazing to experience in a cottage and location like Velika Planina. The owner Rok welcomed us warmly and gave us all the information we needed regarding the cottage, the area and also shared with us some stories.
Who wouldn't want to spend a few days in a fairytale? If you are one of us, go to Ojstrca!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was an absolute thrill to stay in the cottage. We arrived in bad weather with a car, and walked the last 30 minutes. The owner was extremely nice and came to us half way so we would not get lost in the fog. The cottage is on perfect location, with splendid view, and extremely nice setting. We have spent evenings in sauna, and in front of lovely fireplace with and days walking around on the mountain or barbecuing in the garden.
It was a perfect and quiet retreat from a very busy life in the city, all we could ever wish for.
The owner was nicer and more hospitable as most of the hotel receptionists, you really do feel special, staying in the cottage.
The cottage was clean, spacious, warm (despite extreme weather outside) and cosy. Like I said, a perfect retreat from busy city life.
I would recommend this cottage to anyone, especially couples looking for a private, discrete retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja F
1 review
“Fantastic getaway!”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had an amazing stay in Rok's chalet. The location is idyllic, with many hiking paths and local food options (try "štruklji" at Zeleni rob). The chalet has all the amenities you need and is tastefully decorated (the photos don't really do it justice). Much recommended to couples and families. Last but not least, the host Rok was very welcoming and made our stay even more pleasant. We will definitely be returning to the chalet for our next vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanne-Yoo...
1 review
“Beautiful stay at an amazing place”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at the cottage for three nights with our 2 year old son. It was an exciting adventure to get to reach the cottage by chairlift :) We were warmly welcomed by Rok. Staying in touch with him was very easy because of his prompt responses. The nature and views around the cottage was something we had never seen before, amazing! Cows were walking around freely! Although the weather was foggy and didn't get to Enjoy the views as much as we would have liked, the cottage with the fireplace and sauna gave us the peace of mind that we were looking for. Also, when we had to leave the place, Rok arranged alternative transportation for us when the chairlift stopped working because of the bad weatherconditions. He was very helpful. Thanks for letting us stay at your place Rok! Niels and Sanne and Yves

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivanka_ba...
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
1 review
“Cozy”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The weather was foggy during our stay at Velika planina and unfortunately we didn't get to see the fairytale view, but the cabin was beautiful, cozy and warm. The cows were friendly and our dog liked it, too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
敏姿 莊
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent experience and nice view from the cottage!”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stay at this cottage for 3 days with kids (3 and 5 years old) . The time here is the best memory of our trip in Slovenia. The cottage owns the great view of Velika plannia , we enjoyed sunrise, sunset, fogging and even the raining day makes you feel relaxing . Especially the amazing 5 million stars in the mid night. So Incredible! There are mountains with snow on the top which you can easily see in the cottage. Also you can just sit outside the cottage and drink some wine's then enjoy every moment. Outside the cottage there's a BBQ place and you could chop the firewood there. We made a competition of chopping fire woods with kids. That's one of the special experience for us too.

Velika Planina has lots great view to see and the best nature place for kids to enjoy. We went to a lovely church which took about 30 mins walk with kids and played there. My little boy even fell asleep when he lied on the grass. So cute! From there you can see lots of cottages and enjoy the sunshine.

About this cottage, it's very clean , new and well-equipped. There are 4 single beds in the attic which is the most enjoyable secret base for the kids. I love the stove most, just lay down on the sofa and looking at it which makes you unwind. Rok is the best host I meet. He always be in touch and provides lots info. before you traveling. He even prepared a welcome board in Chinese with our name. On the way to the cottage, Rok introduce some info. of Velika planina , good to know more about the place you're going to stay. I defiantly recommend this wonderful fairytale place and best host to who is looking for a perfect trip here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nastjacar...
Celje, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing experience in the mountains”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It was a family trip. We were there only two days but in those two days we saw so many things such as an amazing thunder, beautiful waking up of the sun, the big forest rabits and other creatures, but the most beautiful part was the house we were living in. Everything was so tidy, the beds were clean and so soft. There was a place for a romantic evening, for a children play and even for a midnight sauna time. The owner prepared the nicest welcome and we were able to realy relax there. The place were amazing, the owner is incredible - I would really recomend it to everyone who wants to run away from the urban area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing