We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slovenian hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Casino Gold Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Ajdovscina B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slovenian hospitality!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for several nights and have got nothing but outstanding things to say about this hotel. the staff and even CEO were amazing in their hospitality and service. The rooms were great! spotless and modern. The location is perfect and the management is very active in tourism in the area. (they sponser festivals, beauty pagaents, gastronomy events etc..) The food in the restaurant is overseen by a very talented, caring executive chef. All points considered, i don't think travelers should consider anything else in the area...they even brew their own beer (very tasty!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
10
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Today I stoped at the restaurant which is known localy for good pizzas. Today I wanted to try something else and I've decided to order their local dish "ajdovec" which is a modified Vienna steak with pumpkins and fried garnish. Avoid. Salat bar looked to me very unpleasant. Not fresh ingredients. Good beer though. Toilets could be renewed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajdovscina, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Avery time we visit this place we are very satisfide with service, food and everything else. Outside there is a children playground and tables so you can leave your children to play in the mean time waithing for food or just drink.
If you are near by stop and try!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanzySI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wife and I just spent a wonderful night at this hotel/casino. We were in town for a wedding, and picked this hotel out of the blue. Staff were more than welcoming after long hours on the road. The rooms were in top shape; simple but clean and comfortable.

We aren't really gamblers, but ducked into the casino to take a look. Clean and well lit, the staff were quick to assist and answer any questions.

Downstairs are basically three restaurants sharing a common entrance. We chose the fancier of the three and were more than satisfied with the food and drink we received.

If you find yourself in the area, this is most likely the best option available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocestnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for work. To me coming from the Americas it seemed a little bit small but it was very clean and the staff where friendly. I would most definitely stay here again. Ajdovscina is small and this hotel is right in the middle of it, so you can literally walk everywhere from this Hotel. There are a few bars and shops around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanmty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
298 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

It is unlikely that most of my fellow trip advisors will have a need to be in this beautiful corner of the world, but a recent business trip took me here to a part of the world that has a constant target of a territorial tug of war. Ajdovscina is located about 30 miles (38km) northeast of Trieste, Italy, in the beautiful countryside of Slovenia, one of the states of the former Yugoslavia. Driving from Italy to Slovenia, it is clear that depending upon when you visited, it may have been part of Italy.

Ajdovscina is a very small town that is known for furniture and aircraft manufacturing. The only hotel in town is the Hotel & Casino Gold Club. At first we were leery of planning a night here but fellow Trip Advisors indicated that the facility was recently updated. Indeed it was. The rooms are comfortable if not a little small and the staff is incredibly friendly. They speak English so there will be no issue with communications. There is plenty of hot water and modern plumbing. The internet WiFi service is fast. The room comes with breakfast that is on par with the best of Europe with fresh cold meats and cheeses, cereal, fresh breads and pastries and freshly boiled eggs. Of course coffee in this part of the world is as good as it comes.

Adjoining the hotel are three establishments: The Casino Gold Club and two incredible restaurants. During our 2 day stay, we dined at both restaurants. One is a formal eating establishment with white linen table cloths and features local cuisine - a marriage of Italian and Eastern European styles. But the one that we enjoyed the most was the Pizzeria which featured a wood fired pizza and the most incredible calamari griglia, an Italian rendition of squid simply grilled with olive oil and garlic and salt and served with lemon. No breading. They also brew a selection of their own beers right on site which is also world class! But that's another review.

The bottom line for those of you who are not sure, the Hotel & Casino Gold Club is a great little place to stay if you are on business or just over nighting as you tour the breath taking alpine surroundings. There is plenty of parking in the adjacent parking lots. Overnight rates will make your budget stretch 2 for 1! I will be back for sure.

Room Tip: You must eat at the Italian restaurant adjoining the hotel and try the wood fire oven pizza, the Cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMFLYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel was modern, with a nice bed and pristine bathroom, almost Vegas style, and priced reasonably.

We were driving through and saw very few signs for hotels. We stopped at the hostel in town, and it was 46 euro for two people to sleep in bunk beds in a shared dorm. The Hotel Gold was 75 euro with breakfast, and the room was the nicest we had in Slovenia. It was low on charm (compared to B&B's and rental apartments in the mountains), but it was the best deal we found in Ajdovscina after driving in late in the evening. We had wanted to stay in Col up in the mountains (the views were fantastic), but they didn't have any hotels or sobe for rent. So Ajdovscina and Hotel Gold it was.

I feel like the shower needs special mention. Unlimited hot water and incredible water pressure. It's nice to have an amazing shower after a long day of travel.

Breakfast was included and was phenomenal. Buffet style with everything you can imagine. Great coffee too. We also had dinner in the restaurant, which was reasonably priced and quite good. Very professional service too.

I'm sure most people would prefer to stay in cute B&B's in nearby small towns, but if you want a modern and well-priced hotel, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were pretty much the same as far as location. We had a smaller room on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajdovscina
13.3 mi away
Perla, Casino & Hotel
Perla, Casino & Hotel
#1 of 3 in Nova Gorica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hudicevec Tourist Farm
Hudicevec Tourist Farm
#1 of 1 in Hrusevje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mladinski Center in Hostel Ajdovscina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Majerija
Majerija
#1 of 2 in Vipava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
11.1 mi away
Paquito Hotel Casino
Paquito Hotel Casino
#3 of 3 in Volcja Draga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Casino Gold Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Casino Gold Club

Property: Hotel & Casino Gold Club
Address: Goriska cesta 25 c, Ajdovscina, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Ajdovscina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ajdovscina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Casino Gold Club 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Casino Gold Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing