We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers International Hotel
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The bad: we couldn't reach the hotel to call for a shuttle and so we had to take a taxi from the airport; the lobby reeks of stale cigarette smoke; the new-looking black bedspreads are so completely coated in stains, dust, and hair (long and short) that we shivered all night under top sheets only. The little heater in the room isn't up to the task. Finally, the wifi code that we got at check-in only worked with one device. Perhaps they'd have given us another one, but we were already settled in for the night by the time we noticed the problem.

The good: the hotel reduced our rate because of the shuttle thing; the stale smoke smell didn't reach our room's interior; and the shower's water pressure, as described by so many others here, is wonderful.

What it comes down to is this: we planned to stay here another night at the end of our trip, but we just can't do it. There's not enough water pressure at the bottom of Niagara Falls to feel clean after a night anywhere near that bedspread.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank peppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellers6602, Owner at Travellers International Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay and am sorry to here you where not that satisfied with your stay. As for your comment's, i feel they are a little bit hard but we have taken them as a positive to move forward with our goals. We are new owners here and have just recently reopened the complex after doing a major refurbishment which was required as for the many previous comments on this site. There are always teething problem's when opening any new business as unfortunately our phone system did go down when you did try to call. Our complex is non smoking and have now made the designated smoking area further away from our front door. We do offer free wifi and the system provides a code for one device, but rest assured should you have asked for another our staff would have been more than happy to have provided you with another. Should you ever visit New Zealand again we would like to offer to you a more satisfactory experience should you choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards Richard ( Owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    10
    14
    114
See reviews for
49
57
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

So all we wanted was somewhere clean, with a decent bed, no noise, a fantastic shower, and close proximity to the AKL airport. Job done. The new (ish) owner (ex builder) has taken on the skeleton of a derelict motel that was abandoned and left to decompose. He's on the right track. He'll probably get there especially because of his Tradey pedigree. So in short - if your a good old kiwi that wants a great deal (clean, tidy, fantastic shower, 24hr courtesy van to the airport - and back) and no hassle to get to the airport on time = easy recommendation. If your a prissy posey that will take offence to the smoking by the font door that you can smell through the building, the odd light doesn't work, the Manager doesn't walk you through essentials like how to get on the fee wifi.....go somewhere else.
We will use again (context: Airport On Site Novotel was $130 extra problem night PLUs then you need to organise and pay for parking). I know my choice for next time - here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
474 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed two nights while attending a conference. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was excellent, spacious, well maintained and clean. Meals were very good and carparking about 20 metres from the Hotel's entrance. From reading some older reviews it appears that the Airport Inn has had major work done as we could not fault either the hotel or the service. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol , england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This motel has recently been refurbished and we had no complaints about our room which was modern ,clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable with what seemed like brande new sheets. This motel seems to have recently changed hands and the owner was very helpful. He met us at the airport and took us back there.
One thing there is no restaurant but as there are several about 5 mins walk away this was no problem. There is a fridge in the room with tea,coffee and milk provided. The pool area is attractiv ewith a reasonable sized pool.

Room Tip: our room faced the pool and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retcouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here last night and had to write a comment!!! Did not read all the comments on here as we just drove in, otherwise we would not have stayed, glad we did!!! There are new owners and the whole place has had a complete makeover. The room we were given was an absolute 4 star!!! A few things to finish outside owner said he was just finishing them. Travel out of airport a lot so will definitely be back!!!! Will put a photo up soon. :-))

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul7591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I needed somewhere to stay near the airport the night before an early night at the last minute, and everywhere else was full or silly expensive. I read the reviews here in TP and thought people must have been exaggerating, but I assure you they weren't.
I cannot describe how horrid and grubby this place is. I have included a few photos to show what I mean. The fridge was mouldy, the whole place smelt of urine, the shower didn't work, light bulbs where missing, tiles/carpet was peeling, also there was some interesting stains on the carpet and bedding. I actually had an argument with the reception guy about replacing a couple of lightbulbs just so I could see to use the bathroom. I was informed that he wasn't paid to do DIY like replace lightbulbs and he reluctantly gave me one lightbulb to put in myself, despite there being three missing/not working. The floor was so dirty I didn't dare take my shoes off. And I slept that night fully dress on top of the bed on a couple of clean towels I'd brought with me. As you can imagine I didn't sleep well and I wish I'd of had my car with me as I would have rather stayed in there.
Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anniepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here in May 2011 (bit of a late review). Rooms were ok, comfortable beds and pretty standard amenities. Bathroom was clean. Had a meal in the onsite restaurant which was tasty. Airport shuttle was good, picked us up on time and delivered us to our early international flight to Fiji. All and all had an OK stay at Travellers International. Probably wouldnt stay for more than one night - no frills accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisisityou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grande Auckland Airport
0.4 mi away
Airport Skyway Lodge
Airport Skyway Lodge
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers International Hotel

Property: Travellers International Hotel
Address: 190 Kirkbride Road | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Airport Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Travellers International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing