We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Auckland Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

4,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,411
    1,450
    253
    72
    42
See reviews for
939
1,747
501
740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel gives the impression of trying to screw the guest for as much money as it can. The first thing it did was to get me to sign a pre-authorisation of NZ$100 on my credit card, where all other hotels I've stayed at in the last 25 years are content simply to swipe my card. The mini-bar and (presumably free) tea/coffee were so mixed together that it was impossible to tell what the hotel was going to charge for, so I didn't use any of them.

My biggest problem was the fumes in the room. There was a very strong chemical smell and the fumes gave me a nose bleed for the next several days. It was impossible to open the window to let in any badly needed fresh air.

The lighting was very poor over the desk. It would be impossible for anybody to read or write at this desk in the evening or night. I am unable to understand the logic of hotel renovators who put all sorts of gimmicks into see-through bathroom doors but neglect the basics of providing a desk that guests can actually work at.

The buffet breakfast was very good, and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgieBoy1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear GeorgieBoy1089
Kia ora & Thank you for choosing our Hotel,
I am sorry to read how you feel about our Hotel, this is definitely not how we want our guest to feel after staying with us.
the credit card pre-authorisation is a standard practice in the industry - most hotels/motels would only advise you of an imprint/swipe whilst doing the very same pre-authorisation. I will however work with the team to ensure we explain this as clearly & as simply as possible.
Our team is available 24/7 to assist with any inquiries - I very much regret that you did not contact us for assistance with regards to your room's Minibar, "fumes" & lighting. I am confident we would have been able to assist with alternatives.
Delighted to read you have enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet!
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
525 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The staff were incredibly good, the restaurant superb and the rooms lacked for nothing. When dining, I fancied an omelette - not on the menu but it was ordered without fuss and was delicious. We used to stay at some excellent properties on the main road to the airport, but from now on, will always stay here when needing to depart the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Kia ora Ranipuss
Thank you for choosing Novotel Auckland Airport & sharing your lovely review,
Lovely to read the team looked after you so well!
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Rarely do you find a hotel of this standard at an airport. Accomodation is well appointed, clean and great service. However the most important thing in a hotel is the bed and this hotel has very good beds which are not too hard and gave us a good night sleep. Oh and location you could'nt get any better especially for an early flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Liz_Aussie
Kia ora & Thank you for sharing your lovely review,
So glad to read you have enjoyed your recent stay with us - We look forward to welcoming you back,
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Having had two long flights from the UK it was comforting to know that once I arrived all I had to do was walk across the road to check in. No shuttle bus, no trekking down long tunnels to "attach" the hotel to the airport as is so often the case. It is directly across the road from International arrivals. This in itself is a great selling point.

However, I continued to be impressed. The bar (and I think the restaurant though I did not try that) was open 24 hours. Perfect for a night cap to help you sleep when your body no longer remembers what day it is. I recommend the Kiwi Martini!

The room was clean, the hotel is quite new so all in good condition, my room had a shower only not a bath but found this the norm in the other hotels I stayed in NZ too. Great view of the planes taking off from the end of the corridor but the room itself well soundproofed and the bed very comfy.

Breakfast was included in my rate. There was a good selection of hot and cold items with waffles etc made to order. The staff were quick to replenish items.

Indeed the quality of service was better than I have received in some 5 star hotels. Quite simply the staff could not have done more to be helpful. When I went up to have one final hot chocolate they were refilling the machine and I decided not to wait as I had already had two cups. One member of staff who had seen me waiting actually came after me to say he would put a drink in a take out cup if I liked.

Also the express bus which heads into the centre of auckland stops right outside the hotel. Given that its about a 30 minute ride into town these are a great alternative to taking a taxi for singles or couples and run every 15 mins or so.

All in all a great start to my NZ adventure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Celi36
Kia ora & Thank you so much for your beautiful review,
Our team works very hard to always deliver outstanding experience to all our guests - it is therefore such a great reward to receive comments such as your review! I have already shared this with the entire team!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to NZ!
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.8 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
2.7 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Airport

Property: Novotel Auckland Airport
Address: Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mangere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#1 Family Hotel in Mangere
#1 Business Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Auckland International Terminal and 30 minutes to the city centre, Novotel Auckland Airport provides the perfect accommodation solution for guests travelling in and out of New Zealand. Combining the beauty of natural landscapes with cutting edge architectural design, this hotel features 263 elegant rooms and suites, theatre-style conference centre, 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar plus a fully equipped gym. Parking available at airport, fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Novotel Auckland Airport New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing