We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tarrif, poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Good tarrif, poor staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Booked and paid for two rooms to be interconnecting using BarterCard. Received confirmation. On arrival was told that no interconnecting were available and the rooms were across each other. The receptionist blamed BarterCard for the wrong booking. As I was travelling with elderly sister, I insisted on a interconnecting room. I was reluctantly provided one after a 15 min wait. The hotel is 4.5 star by NZ standard (4 star in Aussie maybe). The rooms were not large but adequate. Furnishing was good. Was expecting a pillow top bed but it was acceptable. Light switches were fancy but difficult to find in the dark, even by feel as they were almost flush to the fittings. Could not find the clock so had to keep switching mobile to check time. General cleaning OK but bathroom tiles and grout had not been cleaned properly. The white carpet was badly stained and needs a good steam clean. The wake up call at 4.15 AM went OK and I was in time to catch the shuttle. That is when things went wrong. There was no one at reception so I left card on desk to catch the shuttle before it left. As there was still 5 minutes left, I went back to reception,(by then the receptionist was back.) She proceeded to check me out. Then she asked for payment. When told it was already paid, she said there was no record. I asked asked her to sort it out with Bartercard office. Her response was pay now or she will charge my credit card. Reluctantly I handed her my BarterCard. She ran it through the Eftpos machine but got declined. I think she used the wrong Eftpos machine. She then proceeded to get authorisation for 1 room. When told there were two rooms, amended the authorisation. Upon return and checking my statement, I find there is one payment and two authorisations. Hopefully they will not charge me 3 times. Not impressed with the service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest, we have clearly missed the mark on a number of occasions, and for this I sincerely apologise. We shall review our communication and procedures with the Bartercard Team to ensure such inconveniences are not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    530
    142
    35
    16
See reviews for
279
377
81
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Much nicer than I thought it would be. The parking was very convenient out the front and our room was lovely. The beds and pillows were firm, but not hard. The shower was typically too short (I'm 6foot), and the water pressure was not anything to rave about, but it was well kitted out with plenty of towels and toiletries if you needed them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronni68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi Ronnie68, thank you for your comments and great to hear we made a good first impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is a little more polished than most transit hotels but also had very afforable rate. I stayed 1 night recently in a standard room. There is a free bus that stops just outside arrival hall (no signage). Note this is 'not' a shuttle instead a large public transport type bus that does about 4 of the hotels around airport. The sudima was the last stop. I think it runs about every 30 min. Also note that the same type bus can take you back to airport next morning but costs $10NZ, reception can advise times.

Check in was prompt and all the staff i encounted during my short stay were professional and helpful. Room is modern, well set out with a comfortable bed and small bathroom. Unfortunatley no fridge. Room service available. Menu actually on TV itself and pretty standard stuff. Ordered a pizza and it was ok and deliveried within 20 min.

Good range of TV channels available and found hotel quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsygirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Turned up at 1am. Used a taxi because the shuttle didn't show. told I had not booked a twin despite my reservation confirming I had. told no twin room available. no roller bed or cot. So I slept on the floor. which was pretty good as floors go.

Could the shuttle drop us to the rental car place (which was on the way to the airport)? No. You have to call them. Can we use your phone? No.

Should be called the Nohotel.

Its cheap though. Perhaps because they only need to employ people who can say no. imagine the training "So you're doing nothing and a guest would like help? No problem. just say no. then you can get back to being as useful as a turd."

Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, General Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest, great to see you back! You keep promising you won't and you keep surprising us. We also love the feedback, some of its almost unbelievable. The Hotel has numerous Triple/Twin rooms and or roll aways beds. The Hotel Shuttle runs 20 hrs a day 7 days a week with out fail. The Hotel is dotted with phones, we even have them in the rooms!
However, we continue to improve our services and standards, its a promise, and we trust this time you''ll keep yours.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The entrance is lovely & inviting, the staff were generally caring & over-helpful if anything.
Lovely room, modern furnishings. Great value wireless, delicious meals. Excellent value for money!
Overall really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, General Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Appreciate the glowing review! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a late night arrival - just after midnight. Our room had been prepared for us. Very clean and welcoming. There were a number of very early departures which woke us, but I suppose it is an airport motel after-all. Staff friendly and the courtesy transfer worked well. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

was clean and tidy and the rooms were well serviced. Receptionist on the Thursday was friendly and very helpful and nothing was a problem to her. Sorry did not get her name but was late. On the last day room service lost my breakfast order, the staff on were not very helpful and some what rude like it was my fault for not ringing down earlier but I thought being a Sunday morning would be busier with customers wanting to get away. There was no apology or what they could do to as had paid for it in the room and did not happen & there was no communication on what they could do to make up for this error. The feedback forms are a waste of time filling out as have not had any correspondence from management of the sudima when I filled out the cards.

Room Tip: recommend the end rooms away from the lifts as those that were nearer could hear the noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, General Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Eggy62, thank you for the review of your mixed experience at our hotel. The issues raised have since been addressed by me personally, and significant steps have been taken to ensure we do a better job to rectify such situations. I trust that on your return visit you will experience first hand the improvements your comments have directly led to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.5 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.3 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel

Property: Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Address: 18 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mangere
#3 Business Hotel in Mangere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel is backed by a 4.5 Qualmark rating and maintains the highest environmental standards. Opened in 2011, Sudima Auckland Airport hotel is less than 2 km from both the domestic and international terminals and offers 153 well appointed rooms. Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel is the first hotel in New Zealand to be awarded the CarbonZero certificate. All rooms are elegantly designed to enhance your experience. You'll enjoy delicious cuisine prepared by our award winning chefs in our restaurant and bar, work out in our gym, built to performance standards, and relax in style in our indoor heated pool. Your hotel experience alone will be well worth the trip. Well-appointed rooms featuring • High speed WiFi throughout the Hotel (charges apply) • Flat screen TV with cable and pay TV • Double glazed window • Total blackout curtains • Tea and coffee making facilities • Shower over bath • Individual Climate Control • Iron and ironing board • 24 hours front desk service • Radio alarm clock • Safe deposit box • Minibar in rooms (based on request only) • Two Double beds (King Bed on request only) • Complimentary parking during stay • FREE access to hotel indoor heated swimming pool and gym. • Airport transfer 24/7 (charges apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing