We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great, but ok for overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was lodged overnight due to a cancelled flight. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was good, and the bed was quite comfortable. That said, the room showed some signs of wear, and the housekeeping could have been better. For overnight, however, it was OK. Though I can't say the same about my experience with Jetstar Airlines.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Donbassero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, General Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for the review. Our decison not to place fridges in rooms, unless requested, is one of our many environmental intiatives, which includes Chilled Beam Airconditioning, Paperless compendiums and rain Harvesting technology. We have taken note of your comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again for choosing to stay with Sudima.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel provides a restful break between flights. There's nothing fancy or extraordinary but the beds are supremely comfortable, the showers hot with plentiful water and most importantly the rooms are quiet with complete blackout curtains.

We arrived at 8am & encountered no difficulties checking into our room. The hotel/airport shuttle ($NZ 6pp) is prompt & reliable.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on 5th floor are a good size & most importantly very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

As you'd expect being close to the Airport the Hotel was never going to be a bargain! The foyer and bar area were very impressive, the rooms very comfortable although I found the 'no-fridge' in room a little perplexing! The room was quiet, the bed comfy all good on that front. The kicker was the complimentary shuttle, it made it all worthwhile when we made our way to Reception at 5am. We'd happily stay again and spend the $ rather than taxi in at some even more unearthly hour from Auckland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel claims to be 4.5*, but has no fridge, no minibar and is dirty. The carpets are stained and I didn't want to take my shoes off.
It is situated in an industrial park between factories.
Breakfast was revolting. Absolutely nothing nice about this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaqi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, General Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you noticed the Environmentally Friendly initiative of not providing in room fridges unless requested. We have noted you other comments for improvement and are disappointed not to have met your expectations. Great that you have chosen to return, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here on a business trip to Auckland and I must say I was very impressed. I had visited a couple of years ago when we had a work conference using their facilities, but had never stayed in their rooms.
The rooms were large and very modern, with a well appointed bathroom (albeit that the door hinged into the bathroom and hit the toilet!). Even though the hotel is near the main road from the airport, it was very quiet.
The breakfast buffet is excellent and the bar is a pleasant place too. I did think the drinks were rather expensive but I guess hotel bars tend to be.
Close to the airport and a short jump to the main highway towards Auckland makes it a very good location too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road side just in case it is louder over that side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October and found the rooms very small with no fridge. We woke up to a bug crawling over us during the night, as this hotel has no opening windows wondered what it was and where it came from. Told staff in the morning and gave them our contacts...haven't heard from anyone. This is a cheap hotel that looks nice at first but it wasn't comfortable.We stay in Auckland every three weeks and will not stay there again. We will go back to the Holiday Inn, nice every time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Julianna, apologies your stay was not a comfortable or that we did not respond to your concerns appropriately. We would like to welcome you back and ask that you contact our Rooms Division Manager directly so can we arrange this as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here quite by chance after my International Flight was delayed & arriving late at night it was very pleasant after a long days travelling. The room on the 6th floor was spacious & nicely furnished with a comfy king sized bed & wonderful soft pillows. The bath/shower was standard but the toiletries were lovely. There is a tea/coffee station. The receptionist was very friendly & welcoming . There is an inhouse restaurant & the room service menu is very basic but adequate. The usual hotel amenities are available including a pool & Gym.
As mentioned in other reviews the bus takes you to & from the airport in a loop fashion & you do need to allow up to 45 minutes travel but it a very good service . The hotel has a small souvenir shop with some interesting art work for sale which is also displayed on the walls of reception. It was a very nice place to stop over even if it was only for 5 hours.

Room Tip: the rooms on the 6th floor are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaAuckland, Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks for your review gypsy039. Pleasing to hear you enjoyed your short visit with us due to unexpected delays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.5 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Naumi Auckland Airport
Naumi Auckland Airport
#8 of 23 in Mangere
74 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel

Address: 18 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#3 Business Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: £113 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel is backed by a 4.5 Qualmark rating and maintains the highest environmental standards. Opened in 2011, Sudima Auckland Airport hotel is less than 2 km from both the domestic and international terminals and offers 153 well appointed rooms. Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel is the first hotel in New Zealand to be awarded the CarbonZero certificate. All rooms are elegantly designed to enhance your experience. You'll enjoy delicious cuisine prepared by our award winning chefs in our restaurant and bar, work out in our gym, built to performance standards, and relax in style in our indoor heated pool. Your hotel experience alone will be well worth the trip. Well-appointed rooms featuring • High speed WiFi throughout the Hotel (charges apply) • Flat screen TV with cable and pay TV • Double glazed window • Total blackout curtains • Tea and coffee making facilities • Shower over bath • Individual Climate Control • Iron and ironing board • 24 hours front desk service • Radio alarm clock • Safe deposit box • Minibar in rooms (based on request only) • Two Double beds (King Bed on request only) • Complimentary parking during stay • FREE access to hotel indoor heated swimming pool and gym. • Airport transfer 24/7 (charges apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing