We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Handy to Airport”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were very surprised at the room size and quality for the affordable price, thumbs up. It was a stress free stay and we slept well until our early morning shuttle bus delivered us safely and efficiently to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Michelle

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and product.. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    112
    115
    82
    79
See reviews for
108
156
63
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
213 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

An unexisting welcome when arrived, no smile from the indian night receptionist. Problem with the free bkfst, seems to be forgotten by the team... been told it was not free. After showing the proof on my reservation, correction made. Very thin door communicating with another roon inside.
Good situation but horrible way of welcoming. Fortunately the girl was nice.

Room Tip: non communicating room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Altrincham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Last minute booking here as our original booking decided to close down! We arrived at Aukland airport at midnight and had a free-phone number which was great. Twenty minutes later we were at the motel - one man on the desk dealing with lots of calls and arrivals but very efficient. We had a great downstairs family room for 3 adults which consisted of two separate rooms and two bathrooms, patio doors and really comfy beds. Just made breakfast which finished at nine, and got a free transfer back to the airport for our flight to Christchurch. All this for $140,00 dollars - very impressive! So impressive that on our way home a month later we decided to spend our last night there. We were told there was an upstairs room for three for $145 dollars. When we arrived our first bad signal was that the rooms ran to 220 something and our room was 236! We had to fight through bags of laundry and through to the staff stairs and the room, although large (and admittedly had a brilliant view of the cemetery across the road) was like a sauna and was obviously staff quarters, and badly in need of renovating. Two floor fans were supplied but after an hour at full blast it was still cooler in the corridor, and someone underneath was cooking bargees. We were absolutely running with sweat and the windows were safety ones and would hardly open! We went down and complained and were told that last time we had a premium room (why have we paid more this time?) they were full, etc etc until the best one of all - we are like the airlines, our cost varies depending on availability!!! Ah, now we have it!
Anyway after quite a loud and heated discussion where several other people voiced there discontent, we were given a double room on the ground floor - at no extra cost (how kind, despite the fact there were three of us)! We agreed to that as it was better than upstairs.
If we had not returned we would have come home and written a brilliant review and recommended this hotel to anyone, but our second experience was absolutely dire. This Indian run motel will not accept travellers' cheques or any kind of cash-loaded card such as Cook's. Also it was the only motel we stayed at to charge for wifi.

Room Tip: Very hard to rate this as we had two separate experiences. If you get a downstairs room in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueM496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love for you to contact me directly at shalend@vrgroup.co.nz as there a number of issues you have raised in your review that are a real concern to me. I am not one to take such things easily and need to address them after receiving more information.

I look forward to hopefully hearing from you in the near future.

Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Enjoyed our time away from home but there are few things that was not up to our satisfaction, I could have bought a better fish & chips dinner from the take away nearby the hotel. Can't even turn a simple fish & chips dinner into an interesting dish. Lack of creativity.
There was not a single door hanger in our room: i:e Make up my room sign or Do Not Disturb sign & have two shampoo & no conditioner. The silicon in the shower is yellow, should upgrade the tea cups to mugs,(room attendants has no sense of responsibility & no eyes for details )
In the folder couldn't find who the owners is as it should be in the introductions. (room attendants has no sense of responsibility & no eyes for details ).
On check out as the desk is busy with guests checking out & there was staff a member playing with his phone at the desk where it should cleared for guests. So I had to stand behind him awaiting for our turn while the duty manager was dealing with a group of ladies.
Can't stand the hot air in the room, the fan was useless, air con' is needed.
Your hotel should have recycle policy. Safe the planet even though you don't believe it.
HEALTH & SAFETY issue: The two arc chairs in our room (very old old old fashion) is soooooooooooooooooo unsafe, the half of where to sit on has no support if you move towards the front edge of chair without thinking, you will ended up on the floor with chair on your back, because that exactly what happened to me on our first night. CAN YOU PLEASE DO REMOVE THOSE CHAIRS OR HAVE ANOTHER CHAIR LEG ADD TO THE 3 ALREADY ON. :-

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poplarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Poplar T,
Thanks for taking out your valuable time on commenting on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations throughout your stay.
I did through investigation of all your issues personally and audited the room’s product and service wherein nothing came to my observation which is not safe or old. The room in which you stayed had been newly renovated and furnished with latest design furniture. I think you are not used to new design furniture.
I understand that on peak time the reception is busy in serving guest wherein patience is soughed. My front desk staff was one company mobile calling our free shuttle service driver in order to help a 70 year old guest who was in need of our shuttle service from airport then.
These chairs had been introduced in my hotel just 6 month ago and nobody had complaint about this despite you which am taking seriously.
My apologies for not able to meet your standard of fish and chips of $12.50, however I hope your other colleagues had enjoyed their meal.
Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel.
Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Beware of the bed bugs! WiFi is too expensive. They wanted me to pay for breakfeast while my reservation described as complimentary breakfeast. At least they have a free shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have.

Please accept my apologies for your experience with us.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, far longer than most as guests seemed to be mainly transit passengers. (So were we, but that's another story!)
Free up from the airport. Good-sized well-appointed room. Good-sized bathroom, roomy shower. Coffee & tea-making facilities, under-counter fridge. Continental breakfast included. Our room was ground floor to the back, so access to quiet lawns and picnic tables. What more could we reasonably want?? Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Free transfer to airport (or other nearby destination) at the end of oiur stay

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back - quiet lawns and picnic tables
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Bobbysue

Thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us.

It's very encouraging to learn that our valued guest enjoyed our products and service.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Auckland near future.

Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is not a safe place to stay as someone robbed our luggage from our room. We reported to the hotel staff immediately but they were very unfriendly and didn't give us any help. We were very disappointed. The hotel is close to the main road, so it is very noisy during the night. By the way, there is a gravegard near the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Lisa,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking out your precious tine on commenting on your recent stay with us.

Am very disappointed with your experience with us on your stay, however we tried our best to help you and communication with Police in regards of the loss of your goods. We don't know where your goods had been gone as nothing was found by police nor in security camera.

This is happened first time in my hotel which am taking very seriously and having through investigation.

Much appreciated if you send me a email on shalend@vrgroup.co.nz and assist each other on investigation.

Please accept my apologies for this and hope to have all your lost items back to you soon.

Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Property: Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Address: 150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel is a 52 room 3 star hotel that is located within a 5 minute drive to Auckland Domestic and International Airport. The hotel specialises in looking after guests by offering clean, great value accommodation with little value added free extras such as:* Free Parking for 10 days* Free Shuttle pick ups ONLY from the airport* Airport drop offs $2.00 per person. Free Light Continental breakfast per person on particular room types per night of stay. We are your perfect choice for a night before a flight out, or just the start of your journey within New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing