We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad too be a kiwi arriving at this so called hotel!! Terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Central Otago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sad too be a kiwi arriving at this so called hotel!! Terrible experience”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Rooms were adequate for a quick stopover. Service was terrible embarressing too be a kiwi! No shuttle available too take us too our 6am flight so had too organise our own transport! No contential breakfast which we had paid for! Apparantly breakfast only opens at 7am. Get real your an airport hotel! Flight s are a 24hrs 7 day a week operation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITHIEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Ithiel,

Thanks for your comment on your recent stay with us.

We pride ourselves on our product and service unfortunately you were unable to utilise it.

We provide free light continental breakfast which is not charged nor added to the room rate.

Our restaurant timings are well advertised in web site and/or agent's site so please read all the hotel details before booking to avoid confusions. All our drop of shuttle service are pre-book wherein you fail to book it and unfortunately the shuttle at 7am was fully booked so could not able to accommodate you.

You being an Kiwi should know that the Auckland airport is 7 days but not 24 hours operation.

However I apologies for your experience with us.

Warm Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    110
    113
    79
    77
See reviews for
106
153
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed a 2nd time on the way back into NZ.This time the desk service was a bit better, and when we mentioned the previous room, the desk attendant said we could have a look and if it was the same room or we were not happy , we could request to see another
This room was slightly better, nets were still very very creased ( showing no pride in appearance). the beds were very hard, but the overall room was cleaner. Plugs in both rooms , and room did not smell.TV reception left a bit to be desired but not problem as we just wanted to sleep.This room had an air conditioner unit.
The shower was again VERY dangerous with the temperature fluctuating to a scalding temp on its own. Breakfast was in the hotel next door and very very basic. Cereal, some fresh fruit, cooked breakfast if you wished to order and wait,toast and drink.No wonder it was complimentary.
Again thought, the shuttle service and driver was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liberated_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. However, the property you are reviewing does not seem to be our property. I hope this review can be moved to the appropriate property.

Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland.

Warm Regards,
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

After a long flight all you want is a clean room, some decent AC, and a place to rest your head...this however, didn't even come close to achieving any of these.
The lobby is deceiving as it is kept quite tidy and the rooms are extremely cheap, but seeing that the reviews were somewhat decent, we thought we'd give it a shot.
Not only do they charge for everything (even local calls) the room we had was disgusting (stains on the walls, dirty shower, dirty linens and a broken fan). We spent the whole time there looking for a new hotel...I recommend staying in Auckland, not 10 minutes away from the airport, where there is nothing to do...
Upon calling a taxi for us, we simply caught one in the lot that was dropping off customers, he told us to take him because he would be cheaper then what the cab that the hotel had called for us would be, since they would recieve a cut.
We ended up staying at the Mercure downtown....it was fantastic:)

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JessicaEdmonton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear JessicaManansala,

Thanks for your comment on your recent stay with us.Unfortunately you were unable to enjoy our product.You had booked a room without air condition and having an expectation of free upgrade to premium room.Unfortunately all our premium rooms were booked therefore my reservation was unable to upgrade without extra cost.

We are a budget accommodation provider near Airport and pride with our product and service which is value for money.

Taxi service is not part of our service wherein we do help our guest if they ask for taxi service.

If you had provide with the free upgrade to our premium room then might be the commend would be different.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

A perfectly adequate hotel near the airport for a quick stopover.
Nothing special about the rooms however their size was much bigger then expected and the beds were fine.
We arrived after midnight - so it was great to crash out in a comfortable bed and booking was easy.
Transport to & from the airport was easily arranged and we found the staff helpful.
On our trip home we have to leave at 5.30am and again this was no problem.
Breakfast was very basic and the tired old restaurant/bar sure needs a refurbish.
Make sure you check whether your breakfast is included with your deal, not that it is expensive to buy separately! Some are some aren't.
Getting a room WiFi voucher was also easy & cheap.
For what it is, this hotel is good value price for what you need.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiersSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the comment on your recent stay with us.
It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our airport location

We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We picked this from a few reviews on here as we were able to access a bus to and from the airport at any hour of day/night. We arrived quite late, the receptionist was friendly enough for the time of the night. Comfortable sleep, clean amenities but realize that this is an affordable hotel for sleep and run which is what we had! We had a great breaky in the morning, it was free - whats not to love!

The trip home was a little less exciting but still budget rooms without too much trouble. Book into different area than nights so that was confusing, the reception guy was not helpful at all. We asked about getting a few slices of bread to have in our room for breaky as our flight was early, he said it is a buffet... we knew this, explained that we were leaving early. Finally he said he would have to check with the kitchen staff - like it was up to them if we eat or not. We really didnt want them to come in and cook us breakfast...

Had an issue with plumbing, rang reception and had a handy man and manager (? well dressed) turn up and fix this immediately. No other issues, would use them again but remember to eat first!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_CMac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that our little touches enhanced your stay and you had a lovely stay. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!

Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumarunui
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before leaving the country and when we got back. We had a different room each stay and both were on the ground floor and very nice. I do agree with other reviews that it is time to put in air conditioning as slightly warm in the room. The airport transfers were good and we were well looked after. The reception was lovely and the staff very accommodating and polite. The restaurant could use a refurbish of the tables and the food adequate. This hotel is a good price for what is offered and would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mallorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Mallorhead,

Thanks for taking out your time on commenting on your recent stay with us.Thank you so much for your praise of one of our staff members

We do have air-condition rooms so please when you book next time do ask for it.

Look forward to provide you better product and service on your next stay with us.

With Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We booked this so that we would have a place to stay after arriving on a late flight. We couldn't find the van that was supposed to take us there, but found another ride. Hostel dorm rooms are nice and clean (but no blankets!), with a good living area and kitchen. May not be full or character, but good if you need a cheap place near the airport.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alpo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. However, the property you are reviewing does not seem to be our property. I hope this review can be moved to the appropriate property.

Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel does not have any hostel.

Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Property: Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Address: 150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel is a 52 room 3 star hotel that is located within a 5 minute drive to Auckland Domestic and International Airport. The hotel specialises in looking after guests by offering clean, great value accommodation with little value added free extras such as:* Free Parking for 10 days* Free Shuttle pick ups ONLY from the airport* Airport drop offs $2.00 per person. Free Light Continental breakfast per person on particular room types per night of stay. We are your perfect choice for a night before a flight out, or just the start of your journey within New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing