We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty sheets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Dirty sheets - upon finally getting my teething baby to sleep, I discovered bed sheets full of somebody's pubes (gross). Rather than wake her, I decided to sleep on top of the bed. In the morning I told reception, who responded 'you should have told us so we could change them'. I said I didn't want baby woken again. They said 'you should have phoned us then'. (Apparently this was all MY fault). I don't even think he apologised. I don't mind mistakes (eg not realising new people checking in to a room), but I mind rudeness and arrogance. I didn't expect much for the price, but clean sheets are a pretty basic requirement for a hotel.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Baggles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Baggles2
Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have. It would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests if you could provide me with your room number. My email is – shalend@vrgroup.co.nz

Please accept my apology for your experience and hope to hear soon from you with your stay room number which will help me in disciplining my staff.

With Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Upon booking this property I selected a so called suite to ensure a quite nights sleep. In the booking I made a note to advise I was competing in an ironman in a couple of days and need a quiet room for a decent nights sleep. That night we were woken around every hour with people thumping their bags down the stairs.. It was a terrible nights sleep and when say the least.

Upon letting reception staff know I had an indifferent response and got the feeling that the complaints come often and are tiresome .

I was nothing short of exhausted after this stay and exactly what I was trying to avoid even I selected this hotel.. When I emailed the Manager about this I was insulted with a 10% discount off my next stay.. You have to be kidding me! You couldn't pay me to stay here again!

Other NZ properties we stayed at were amazing! Be warned the staff are terrible, management are worse and it's noisy as hell...

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayoneonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you had a stay that was not up to your expectations. Please note that our property have stairs, some amount of minimalistic noise is to be expected when opening up your balcony door. I am happy to say that our rooms are well insulated in general and therefore retain heat well and keep away most sounds. None the less, we will do some investigation to see what can be done to limit these sounds in the future.

Take care and I hope your comment might be different if we had given you full refund as requested via email communication.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed one night at the 'Kiwi' between flying in from Christchurch and out to Melbourne and we got what we paid for. The transfer to and from the airport was well handled though the hotel is a few kilometres away, the reception staff were friendly and the room was of a large with a double and a single bed, clean but a little tired (The fixtures and fittings were beginning to show their age). They also have an on-site guest laundry which was useful. Our chief complaint was the restaurant staff where the waiter, when we were able to find him, though civil appeared not to want to be there and barely did his job. The food however was OK if a little ordinary (They don't do lunches but a couple of restaurants are only 10 minute walk away). All in all for what we paid it was good value and for a single night lay-over this was a good choice but for longer maybe not.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coyote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It was glad to hear that you enjoyed our product and service wherein our staff also made it more comfortable.Each and every feedback helps us in improving our product and service which our management take very seriously.

We look forward to welcome back you gain on your next visit to Auckland

Warm Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here on 2 separate nights with my holiday in Niue in-between, the two dates were the 07/02/14 & the 22/07/14. On arrival at Auckland Airport direct from Sydney I had to contact the Hotel using one of the free phones in the airport terminal, waited only a short time at Gate 4 for the free complementary transfer to the hotel & the driver appeared pleasant and polite. I had booked the two dates over the internet a few months earlier using BOOKINGS.COM. First impressions go along way when arriving at the hotel & I just had a feeling it's not run by local KIWIS, I handed over my confirmed bookings to the receptionist & I'm asked for my Credit Card Details for a security bond in case of any damage to the property or I decide to take a runner !!! The transfer driver helps with my suitcase to the upper level & I'm given room 229 & immediately I noticed I'm facing the main road & went straight back to the reception area requesting a quieter room with less traffic noise & without any fuss given room 226, this room seemed smaller than 229 & unsure if it's the type of room I'd paid for being a Queen Room ? I couldn't get the A/Conditioning to work & after asking the reception staff i'm informed I have to use the electric standing fan !!! After sorting out my personal items I needed to eat & when I went down stairs at approximately 6:30pm there wasn't any atmosphere in the restaurant with only 1-2 patrons eating & decided to take a 10 minute walk locally to find a restaurant. The following morning I didn't feel like I'd slept well with the bed being some-what short for a 6"1 tall guy like myself. Breakfast from 7am in helping yourself like a buffet breakfast, the breakfast very bland without much on other apart tea coffee juice cereal toast & jam, no offer of a cooked breakfast. Later I checked out & straight to the airport again using the free shuttle bus [best to book the time for the shuttle with the reception staff]..... I return back into Auckland Airport 14 days later during the late afternoon on Saturday 22/02/14 & went through the same system in calling the hotel for a transfer, this time I waited a good 25 minutes & the driver wasn't very welcoming & drove like a crazy man speeding & looking very annoyed & stressed. Same procedure on my 2nd visit at 7:30pm & at the desk giving my C/Card details, this time I'm given room 224 on the upper level, a repeat of the 07/02/14 & decide not to eat in the restaurant with no one inside eating without a Saturday evening atmosphere , just walked 10 minutes up the road finding a couple of restaurants with a better atmosphere, on returning to the hotel I had arranged a suitable time for my transfer on Sunday morning 23/02/14 [10am check-out time policy] and had to spend 4 hours at the airport before checking-in for my return flight to Sydney. I had paid for my first visit NZD $75.00 for the room with breakfast, on the 2nd visit paid NZD $85.00 with breakfast. Personally I may have had a better option if I'd looked around searching through the internet ??

Room Tip: If you haven't already paid upfront through the internet then make sure you view the room before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your precious time to comment on your experience with us.

Each and every hotels in world seek bond upon checking,which was well advised to you on your booking confirmation.

There are more Kiwi working for us, which I hope you might have overlooked.

I understand that you wanted to enjoy our premium room service upon booking economy room wherein unfortunately your request was not entertained by our staff.

I advise you to have a through check made for the room type and additional service before booking.

I hope your comments would be different if you had given Premium room at a economy room rate.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed overnight prior to an early morning flight. I guess you get what you pay for - OK but nothing special. Value for money is OK. The room was fine - but some maintenance issues. The staff were efficient but with no warmth or personality. Dinner in the restaurant was a bit ordinary - out of oysters, out of cider, low on ice & "don't do coffee." We saw a very tempting steak at a nearby table so went for that, but ours was small & dry compared to the one we saw.
The staff are predominately Indian and there are several Indian dishes on the menu. In hindsight we may have been wiser to go for an Indian dish. Overall - a cost effective, convenient overnight pit stop.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have luggage. There is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

Thanks for your time to comment on your recent stay.

With Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here twice during our new Zealand trip. Hotel is clean, basic and has free airport shuttle bus which is what you need. Simple breakfast but as a pit stop in between flights this place is fine and value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BargainSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for your precious time to comment on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoy our product and service.

Please keep in touch and look forward to welcome back again on your next visit to Auckland

With Regards
Auckland Kiwi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Address: 150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: £58 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel is a 52 room 3 star hotel that is located within a 5 minute drive to Auckland Domestic and International Airport. The hotel specialises in looking after guests by offering clean, great value accommodation with little value added free extras such as:* Free Parking for 10 days* Free Shuttle pick ups ONLY from the airport* Airport drop offs $2.00 per person. Free Light Continental breakfast per person on particular room types per night of stay. We are your perfect choice for a night before a flight out, or just the start of your journey within New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing