We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to the free airport shuttle?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Ibis Budget Auckland Airport is a typical no frills airport hotel. Rooms are tiny and basic and if you are really "lucky" you may end up being on the same floor with a group of 20-30 excited teenagers. It is not cheap and its main plus is its proximity to the airport-about 10 min walk to either of the terminals. The hotel used to have a free shuttle to and from the airport but from November 2013 the shuttle that runs on a every 30 min basis charges 6 NZD one way per adult. So if you have a lot of luggage and/or kids and cannot do the 10 min walk you need to pay 6$ for a 2 min ride! i find this a complete rip off and for my next trip will book one of the small motels that provide free rides to and from the airport. Incidentally a taxi will charge you 20 NZD for the same ride. Go New Zealand-the land of the wild West capitalism!

Room Tip: Unless you are a teenager traveling in a large and noisy group I would suggest verifying whether the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasha1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,740 - 1,746 of 2,869 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Abbii A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Barbie5067
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank phildeni
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Overall we were happy with the room.

We did have to set the bunk though. They knew there were three of us coming but the sheet, mattress cover, pillow slip and blanket to the bunk were neatly folded in a plastic bag on the bunk's mattress. Oh well so we had to set the bunk. Small price of time to pay for a cheap hotel. There was only one sheet per plastic bag per bunk so we had to borrow a second sheet from the other bunk's set of bunk gear.

There's a shopping centre within walking distance to the hotel and Butterfly creek is very close too. Worth seeing for the butterflies and the animals - though we discovered our son has lepidopterophopia!

Thank you Ibis. Thank you for the good basic breakfast (part of the price..reasonable) Toast and Cereal. The full cream milk was not full cream milk. It was definitely skim or reconstituted with not enough milk powder. The coffee machine certainly didn't work properly. Internet access was not free. No little fridge.

There's a pub downstairs. Good choice of meals.

Close to Auckland airport. Thank you Ibis. Your hotel room was clean. It was small but that wasn't a real problem.

We would definitely stay there again. We might skip the breakfast and its cost and get breakfast elsewhere. We're gluttons for a cooked breakfast.

Sincere regards,

Nando and family

Room Tip: Ask that the bunk beds have their sheets and blankets set, or is that an increase to the cost? Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iFerdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 December 2013

For the price you pay (119 dollar for a double room) I don't think you get good value. The room was missing certain things that would make the stay much nicer:

- you can not open the window
- no water cooker
- no little fridge

The room and bathroom were also not that clean.
We also both slept very bad, I think because of the air conditioning, I could not breath so good in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexaD418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
0.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Auckland Airport

Address: 2 Leonard Isitt Drive | Auckland Airport, Mangere, Auckland 2150, New Zealand (Formerly Formule1)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
#2 Green Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Auckland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best value accommodation at Auckland Airport. Ibis Budget is the ideal choice for transit guests, located within walking distance to both the Domestic and International Terminals. Complimentary on-site parking for the night of your stay. 198 contemporary rooms, vending machines, breakfast and internet access available. Adjacent to the hotel is a range of shops and outlets including cafes, supermarket and casual dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis budget Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing