We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great airport option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
GreenLeadersBronze level
washington, dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great airport option”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile


Great option for an airport hotel Yes the rooms are small and basic, but they are clean, tidy, and comfortable for a night of sleep. Convenient to many resturaunts within walking distance, as well as several shops and a grocery store. You can walk just over a mile (1.4k) to the airport along a sidewalk (we saw several people doing this with luggage trolleys) or take a $5 shuttle that brings you to the front door. There's a nice park across the street with some nice sculptures, if you need to kill a few hours or jus want to get outside before traveling. Overall, a great choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank the_voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    1,061
    764
    211
    133
See reviews for
623
964
509
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

A basic neat clean room with all you require for a night stay. Was perfect for my late night flight into Auckland and I was able to walk 15 mins from the international terminal.

It's was the best priced hotel for the few hours I required it and suited my needs perfectly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmanator85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have stayed here many times as its convenient and a reasonable price, especially when you are just spending one night to pick people up from the airport early. There is a shuttle to the airport which is great if flying out at a small cost. The rooms are basic but everything you need for a nights stay. Just make sure you take a bottle of water as there is no cups to drink from in the room. The Staff have always been very helpful. There is a great Pub next door that serves lovely meals, also Countdown is 2mins walk away from the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murchison, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We needed an inexpensive hotel close to the airport for an overnight stay between flights. Ibis fitted the bill perfectly. We walked from domestic terminal to Ibis in the evening and walked to International in the morning. Good exercise and good sidewalks all the way - about 500m.
Room was small but comfortable and ideal for our purpose. Downstairs kitchen facility was limited to a microwave but was adequate. Price was outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden H, Manager at Ibis Budget Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Roger-Sarah

Thank you for choosing to stay with ibis budget & for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Glad to read you found the hotel to be good value for money. Walking to & from the airports is great! It is flat, well paved, & on a sunny day makes the walk even better.

I hope the rest of your travels went well & we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Ok, it is most certainly cheap... And close to the airport, but that's where the benefits end.
The sheets are so damn starched that it's like trying to sleep in a paper bag! My partner rolling over in the other bed woke me up multiple times... Don't get me started on the single bed situation, I booked for a queen, and was told there were none left when we got there.
Don't expect any help or advice via email on the airport shuttle, I got no response from them on that... But so you do know, out door 8 at the airport , across the road and look for the yellow bus (both in name and colour) it was $6 each and ran direct to the hotel, it also services a few of the other locals...
The room was functional, and shower had good pressure, but don't expect it to be anything even vaguely resembling warm if it's near checkout time! Oh, and if you're planning on killing some time watching tv in your room, you'll only have a couple of channels to watch... Cheap and barely functional, I'm not certain you wouldn't be more comfortable at a backpackers.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Value for money, very convenient airport hotel, we have stayed in this hotel just for one night as we were on transit . Excellent staff very helpful. You could walk there from the airport if you have rucksack , with the standard luggage can be more difficult. There is shuttle which you can use but if you traveling with someone else cab can be cheaper.
Next to the hotel is plaza with supermarket , farmacy shop , fast food and others.
Rooms are small but clean quiet.
We will use this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vitoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Address: 2 Leonard Isitt Drive | Auckland Airport, Mangere 2150, New Zealand (Formerly Formule1)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
#2 Green Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Auckland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best value accommodation at Auckland Airport. Ibis Budget is the ideal choice for transit guests, located within walking distance to both the Domestic and International Terminals. Complimentary on-site parking for the night of your stay. 198 contemporary rooms, vending machines, breakfast and internet access available. Adjacent to the hotel is a range of shops and outlets including cafes, supermarket and casual dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing