We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location location location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
310 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is close to the airport within walking distance or take the shuttle for $5 per person or $6 if you are coming from the airport. There are shops and restaurants across the road and breakfast within the hotel can be had for a small charge(self service required) internet is also available for a charge. The hotel is ideal for a flight at any time of the day or night because it is open 24/7.The rooms are small but for one night as long as you do not have too many bags you will be okay, our shower door was missing a seal and so the water went everywhere over the bathroom floor. The room was sufficient as I said for one night you should get a get nights sleep.

Room Tip: Don't expect a lot and don't bring a lot of luggage and remember it is after all only a budg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    1,039
    749
    208
    132
See reviews for
606
945
502
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

With an early ( 4:00 am) check in at International Terminal, this motel ticked all the boxes for location ( walk to terminal easy), price and amenities. Its not flash but all I wanted was a bed and shower. Bonus was bar/restaurant in basement ( run by separate people), which was excellent. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden H, Manager at Ibis Budget Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Allen R

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay.

Glad to read you enjoyed the hotel!

You dined with Szimpla Gastro Bar & Restaurant they're fantastic! Great food, service & beer / wine if you fancy some local product. When you come back make sure you book in as from my understanding they're booked out most nights!

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel delivers half of the typical Ibis experience: clean rooms (but really tiny!) and comfortable beds. Since it's the budget version of the brand, no breakfast is on offer and wifi is available for a charge, even for members of their loyalty program who have "earned" free wifi. There was a shuttle to the airport, but it's close enough that we walked.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden H, Manager at Ibis Budget Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear MathYVR

Thank you for choosing ibis budget and for taking the time to post feedback on your stay.

Happy to read your room was clean & the bed was comfortable! New King beds coming this December once the expansion is complete I hear these beds are even better!!

Breakfast is on offer every day from 0430 - 0930 ( till 1000 on the weekends) this is $12 per person if booked on-line it is $10. Regrettably ibis budget worldwide & some selected hotels are exempted from the payment of points and other loyalty benefits your would find in our other Accor properties from ibis styles up to Pullman / Sofitel hotels (some of these are exempted). These are available to you via member service if you did want to look into excluded brands/hotels further.

I hope the rest of your travels went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I get that this is a Ibis Budget hotel, I just didn't realise that the 'budget' part related to general maintenance of the property...

I chose to stay here as I was flying in late from Australia before heading off early to meetings in the city.

I had low expectations of what to expect from the hotel - possibly a small room, maybe none of the basics such as tea/coffee, space to walk around, etc. What I found though was really disappointing.

Firstly, the blind that (I assume) was supposed to cover the window and block out light from the surrounding buildings and 24/7 airport was broken - no amount of pulling, tugging, or trying to jerry-rig the blind in the down position worked - so sleep involved a room bathed in light.

Secondly, the room was a twin - but one of the beds was clearly broken - like, it's on a weird angle to the naked eye...and upon further investigation I find two of the legs on the LHS are broken - I just can't believe that this bed would be changed and deemed fit for the next guest(s) given it was clearly broken.

Finally, hot water - budget or otherwise this is clearly a minimum requirement...

Overall, I was disappointed with the hotel. It honestly felt like a property that is being driven into the ground by poor maintenance, guests that don't care for the hotel, and a lack of local competitors who might force management to lift their game.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Always use this hotel when I have an early morning flight leaving from the international terminal the following morning. It's not worth the risk having your flight from Wellington delayed so for under $90 this hotel is great. The rooms are small but what do you expect when your hotel is 600 meters from the domestic arrivals hall and your only staying for a few hours. The best bit is the $6 airport bus that picks you up every 30 minutes from about 4am in the morning and takes you to the international terminal. They don't usually take a credit card deposit either which is a real bonus for budget travellers!

Room Tip: No tips, the rooms are small but if you want a decent room pay $250 for the Novotel at the internati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamrhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden H, Manager at Ibis Budget Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear iamrhys

Thank you for choosing ibis budget & for taking the time to post feedback on the hotel.

Glad to read that the hotel meets your expectations, its always nice to read that our guests enjoy their stay.

New rooms are coming in this December, 73 more, when you're in next make sure you ask for one of the King bedded rooms I hear they will be very comfortable!!!!

We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.3 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Address: 2 Leonard Isitt Drive | Auckland Airport, Mangere 2150, New Zealand (Formerly Formule1)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
#2 Green Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Auckland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best value accommodation at Auckland Airport. Ibis Budget is the ideal choice for transit guests, located within walking distance to both the Domestic and International Terminals. Complimentary on-site parking for the night of your stay. 198 contemporary rooms, vending machines, breakfast and internet access available. Adjacent to the hotel is a range of shops and outlets including cafes, supermarket and casual dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing