We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kiwi ana at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Szimpla Gastro Bar

Szimpla Gastro Bar
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Szimpla Gastro Bar is a new concept bar & restaurant located under the ibis budget Hotel at Auckland Airport, not far from Mangere Bridge, Manukau. A home away from home for visitors to New Zealand staying in neighbouring hotels and an exciting new social venue for members of the local business community and nearby suburbs. With its rustic Kiwi charm, top-notch hospitality, delicious grub and range of brews.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kiwi ana at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great menu, attentive, friendly staff. Clean place with lots of kiwi ana around the place. Love the decor and big screens. Food prices excellent for the amount of food you get. Not left waiting too long for your food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tash B, Owner at Szimpla Gastro Bar, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Eva, thanks for your feedback and recommendation. We hope to have you visit again soon. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    152
    35
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“buzzy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Used this restaurant close to the airport to meet up with work colleagues from around the island. Really quirky decor, attentive staff and the food was great!
Shame its not open for breakfast

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is worth going to just for the kiwiana treasures everywhere. Lovely atmosphere and excellent service. Great value for money food wise, the burgers are massive. Be warned tho if you have the buffalo wings and choose the mild sauce it is still pretty hot!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super cool atmosphere & yummy food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Such a cool bar and restaurant to hang out in... I told my friends to expect "Jungle Vintage" as the style if they ever visited! I hung out earlier in the day for a cheeky sav in the bit slightly outside with cool vintage couches which was really nice to relax in. It had heaps of different areas you could choose from. The lady who served me was really friendly. I ended up going back for dinner and had a burger... SO good.. gourmet burger with fries and a big glass of cider. The chicken had been chargrilled so was super tasty. Their menu looked pretty good. I was staying at the Ibis beside Szimpla so was a nice and interesting place to hang out. I think the burger and drink I had was about $22-$25 about average price and definitely worth it for the size of the meal, so full afterwards! :) I would love to visit again one day and actually hang out there with friends for a night, thanks!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, NZ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, a short walk from ACK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Good beer selection, ample servings, and no rush environment. Free WiFi was a plus also!
We have fish and lamb, and both were very good. This is a cut above the usual airport fare!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Szimpla Gastro Bar also viewed

Mangere, Auckland Region
Manukau, Auckland Region
 
Mangere, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Mangere, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Szimpla Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing