We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People Skills Maybe?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Travelair Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I chose this motel as a place to rest our heads after an extremely long journey from UK to New Zealand. The place itself was comfortable, had free wi-fi, free pick-up and drop off at the airport - and, in my opinion, represented good value for money.
The only down side was the management, whose pronunciation of English left a lot to be desired (not a crime) but also had a surly and disinterested attitude to us throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our room was large with a separate bathroom and kitchen, definitely enough room for the two of us. The beds were oddly itchy (which other people have complained about on Trip Advisor also), I think it's because of the laundry detergent used. We ended up just sleeping on top of the sheets. The room was clean, amenities were decent. It's basic, simple, dated accommodation and the cost per night is reflective of this. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, the shuttle was convenient and the staff were pleasant. We probably won't stay here again but not because it was a bad motel, but it's nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was basic but OK. 20 min from airport and on a noisy road but clean and tidy. We booked in for the 6am shuttle bus to the airport for an 8:30 flight. Come 6am there were too many people turn up for the bus but rather than take us who had booked in they took whoever turned up first and left the rest waiting. So my family headed to the airport on the bus to check in while I was left waiting. It took 1/2 hr for the shuttle to return, then another 15 min to get to the airport. So I nearly missed the plane.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Street view exterior could could do with updating, but don't judge a book by its cover, the room was well presented and although a few elements where outdated, the majority was fantastic and there was plenty of space.

Had a great sleep on comfortable bed, great sheets and pillows, large dining table, decent sized TV. Over all it was a great place to stay and good value for money.

We had a car, but it was nice to know that the Motel offered a free shuttle to the airport.

This motel also has cheap day rates so if you are flying in early from a international flight you don't need to pay for a full nights accommodation.

Would stay here again at the right price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayjay88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Travel Air Motor Inn isn't as bad as some of the reviews make it seem. If you consider the room itself and compare it to the per night price, it isn't bad at all. A single room with queen-size bed is decent sized and offers a mini kitchenette with full bathroom. The room also offers a new big 48" + flat screen LG TV. The room itself was in pretty good shape: bed sheets were spotless, carpet was in decent shape, bathroom fixtures and walls also appeared fine. There are plenty of electrical outlets to charge your gadgets with.

Location is good. It is close to the airport and easy to get to; a pak n' save grocery store is nearby. Room walls are good enough that you can't hear the traffic outside, despite being right alongside a main thoroughfare.

Parking is free, and so is WiFi.

Service, however... is another story. The innkeeper (a tiny little Asian woman) was just miserable to deal with, right from the get go. There was no greeting; no "hello and welcome"; nothing more than a "what do you want." She was gruff, and borderline rude. Housekeeping was not much better the next morning, when they stopped by to change towels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed. I stayed two nights, was going to leave and go elsewhere the second but had no time to organise and couldn't afford to loose out on money. 5mins in the maids kid lets off a fire work right where'd id been parked checking in, it ends up through a top level window and no one batted an eye. my view from my window were cars parked all over the lawn and a dumpster that was overflowing with 10+ rubbish bags. Room did not appear as it did in pics. Weird smell, windows were filthy, curtains old and grubby. bedding was miss matched. pillow cases were once white but now a cream colour. pillows were yellow stained underneath cases, was black head hair over doona and pillows. Itched all night long and got redish rash. bed bugs? $am wake up due to water pipe noise when people were showering. paper thin walls. Traffic noise and barking dogs from 5am. No bedside lamps but switches for them? No light bulb in bathroom and no exhaust fan in the shower. only two coffee mugs and one teaspoon so no facilities for eating in at all. No room service as suggested. Left the room before they attended to it and returned that night to find that the coffee cup i'd used hadn't been clean and the linen hadn't been changed. knowing this because one of the pillow cases had a pen mark on it and it was still there when I returned. Also narrow old stairs to rooms and no offer of help to get to upstairs rooms. The free shuttle was good but when booking it at recieption I told the gentleman when I wanted to be at the airport and he was very rude and spoke over me and told me I didn't have to be there that early and booked me into the later shuttle which gave me less time to have breakfast and the odd look in duty free. Also a gentleman who caught the same shuttle said that he and his wife and 5 kids had booked the 6am shuttle and there was someone there who hadn't booked in. they took that guy and told the father to call a cab. he was flying Jetstar and departed at 7;30 we only made it to the airport at 645 so hopefully he made his flight. I wish I have read more reviews about this place before I booked it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The room was clean and the bed comfortable and the place is close to a supermarket as well as easy access to dressmart and not far from the airport they also have day rooms. The tvs have premium channels not cable which means they have more Asian channels including music

Room Tip: choose an end room by the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.6 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
3.3 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Travelair Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Travelair Motor Inn

Address: 15 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: £72 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Travelair Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Travelair Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Travelair Motor Hotel Mangere
Airport Travelair Hotel
Mangere Best Western
Airport Travelair Motor Inn Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing