We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, smelly and unhelpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airport Travelair Motor Inn
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dirty, smelly and unhelpful”
Reviewed 13 May 2007

The main feature of this accommodation was the lack of cleanliness. The carpets were heavily stained, the bed covers were dirty and there was an all-pervading unpleasant odour. There was a shuttle bus to a local restaurant at 6pm, although we were not informed of this when we arrived. The alternative food source was free 'home-delivery' of an unappertising but adequate Chinese/Indian meal.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cumulusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    31
    26
    44
See reviews for
32
58
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

We stayed here one night because we wanted to be close to the airport. We chose this motor inn from the net because it looked basic but clean. The reality was very different from the glossy netsite. The place looks neglected from the entrance. Near the reception area there was a cat litter box.
The odour of cat urine was so bad in the first unit we were given that we asked to go to another unit. The second unit had a stale cigarette smoke smell.
In the advertising in the AA Accommodation guide it states that there is a restaurant. This is not the case. As there are no restaurants close by we ordered food that the owner has brought in from somewhere else. After one hour we were presented with "roast of the day " , which cost $15.00 each. This consisted of a minute piece of roast potato a small spoonful of frozen mixed vegetables and two slices of beef on a plastic picnic plate.
We had to get the owner to come across and put a central light bulb in as the main light in the room did not go and when we got into bed we found a large tear in the sheet.
This motor inn is not a Best Western although it still seems to be advertised as such in some places. We would not recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank locatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangere hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 January 2006

We stayed in a one bedroom family unit at this motel for one night. We had read advertisements and seen pictures in Jasons Accommodation Directory and the AA Accommodation Guide. Both were most misleading. These books state the motel has an excellent in-house restaurant - there is no restaurant!! The pictures showed modern attractive decor. Our room was disgusting. The bedspreads did not cover the beds properly so shabby bases were exposed. The springs were exposed in one bed in the lounge and the mattress was partially covered with a foam squab that was only half length. One of the dining chairs had no springs, and just a piece of board underneath to prevent the cushion from falling through. The dish cloth in the kitchen was filthy and the pot scrubbing part was totally worn. The bathroom was mouldy. Skirting boards in the lounge were rotten. The glass door into the lounge had a venetian blind halfway down, the rest was all broken so at night the outside lights intruded. The lawns were unkempt and at the side of the unit were about 12 inches high, and at the rear about 6 inches high. The charges for this motel are similar to other places but the quality is not there. We do not recommend this motel at all.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 January 2004

My wife and I stayed here for one night in Jan 2004. During the night, theives entered our room and stole most of our bags, including all our money, cards and passports. We were not the only ones. The security in the motel was terrible. We noticed the next monring that we were able to open locked doors easily. Whilst the staff were helpful, the owner was not and wanted nothing to do with us. I will never stay in this area (or motel again), and recommending others to do likewise.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.6 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.8 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.7 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
3.3 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Travelair Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Travelair Motor Inn

Property: Airport Travelair Motor Inn
Address: 15 McKenzie Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Travelair Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Travelair Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Travelair Motor Hotel Mangere
Airport Travelair Hotel
Mangere Best Western
Airport Travelair Motor Inn Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing