We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for early flight.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location for early flight.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked this as we had an early flight to catch the following day and were not expecting much, we had used points from my husband's loyalty card to pay for it so if it had been poor, at least it was free!

How wrong were we.....check in brilliant thanks to the English guy (sorry rubbish at names) and the poor girl who was on her first day, despite that very helpful, thank you.
Long walk to our room but was well equipped, very warm, had everything we needed. Dumped our cases and made our way to dinner. Did not fancy the buffet in the main restaurant so went to the bar instead. Seats comfy and a good choice of food, shame about the drunk bloke swearing profusely (his mates looked embarrassed too) but as bar was full we couldn't move. further away. Good food and great service.

Check out was quick and easy and the pre arranged taxi was there on time.

Well done Holiday Inn Auckland you got it right, it is perfect for a pre flight stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArabianRanchesLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    377
    191
    38
    19
See reviews for
150
293
80
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mangonui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had the misfortune of missing a connecting flight to Kerikeri because my international flight was delayed, so was put up here by Air New Zealand. I was not looking forward to it, as I thought it would not be much, and assumed that noise would mean a bad night's sleep. Well I was completely wrong. The reception area is lovely and inviting. My partner asked for a quiet room, and I thought yeah right, but that is what we got. No plane noise, no other noise from other guests, nor traffic noise. The rooms are well appointed and the decor is modern and new looking. It was a cold night, but the rooms are lovely and warm. We were given vouchers for dinner and breakfast, but I did not actually experience these as the whole ordeal left my appetite dead, but the restaurant and bar did look nice, and it is very convenient if staying for just a night or two. Overall I was very impressed, so much so, that if I need to stay somewhere to catch a flight in future this is where I would stay.

Room Tip: Not sure if it makes a difference, but we asked for a quiet room, and we got one. So if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Convenient location by the International Airport and seems to be a very popular place as it remained full & busy during my three day stay. My first room had a locked door to an adjoining room which wasn't appropriately soundproofed. Asked for a room swap at 11pm as couldn't sleep. Staff were very understanding and moved me to another room without complaint. Much better! Has an excellent gym with bran spanking new cardio & weight gear, AWESOME. Only downside was that it didn't open until 07:00. Buffet meals in restaurant were decent quality but repetitious. Some trays looked a bit tired but that probably depends on when you choose to dine. Breakfast buffet very decent too. Rooms were well appointed, decent size and clean. My advice is avoid rooms with adjoining doors. Staff friendly, efficient, helpful. By no means a five star but a good value 3 to 4 star place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time I've stayed here and I'd stay again. If you don't need to be in town and want to stay close enough to the airport that you can get there without getting stuck in traffic but be far enough away to not be woken by planes flying overhead then this place is perfect. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Good restaurant. The only annoying thing is that you have to pay for wifi (why do chain hotels do that?!) and the breakfast buffet is well overpriced ($27). Who can eat $27 worth of breakfast food?! However these things are minor. I'd recommend the holiday inn.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchavanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was awesome. The staff were efficient and friendly, the rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was great, loved the fruit juicer. Location was good, shuttle to airport cost $6 per person, however we had a park and stay package which included shuttle. Will return.

Room Tip: Ground floor was convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g13n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I was recently put up in the Holiday Inn for a night by my airline after a delayed flight, the reception area was pleasantly modern and inviting. It's quite a large facility I think it would be a good place for work conferences/business meetings. Their breakfast buffet was fairly extensive, the rooms were clean and the beds were actually very comfortable. One downside is that there are no lifts only stairs which you can imagine is a bit of an inconvenience for those with larger suitcases or bags. The complex isn't particularly modern or 'flash' but for an over night stopover it was great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becshutson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Ryan - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Kia Ora Becs,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Auckland Airport.

I am sorry to hear your flight was delayed but it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and service impressed you.

We are a full service 4.5 star hotel and have 24 hour Concierge on duty to help with luggage. We are only a two story building so we do try to allocate guests with heavy bags on the ground floor or the Porter is always ready to assist if you prefer a first floor room.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Auckland.

Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The food at the restaurant was hot, fresh and quite yummy.

I stayed here as a result of a flight being cancelled and the airline concerned arranging overnight accommodation for me and a whole lot of other passengers (!) until a replacement plane could be arranged.....I would stay here again if I was in transit or needed a hotel room prior to a flight.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room on the ground floor as there are no lifts to the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_Sydney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Ryan - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Kia Ora Jackie,
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Auckland Airport.

Delayed or disrupted travel is never much fun but I am delighted we were able to be a little ray of light amongst the frustration. It is so very nice to read that you were impressed by the hotel's facilities and the service from the team.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Auckland.

Stay Real,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.8 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auckland Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Address: 2 Ascot Road, Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mangere
#4 Family Hotel in Mangere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is located only 4km from Auckland International and Domestic Airport Terminals, set amongst 10 acres of tranquil established gardens, out of flight paths and set back from the road away from traffic – Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a sub-tropical quiet oasis. The hotel's airport shuttle bus will link you with the hotel in just 5 minutes, so you will soon be relaxing after your flight in one of the well appointed rooms or by the hotel swimming pool. You will be warmly welcomed by genuine people offering authentic New Zealand down-to-earth consistent service in a relaxed and unique environment. The decor features stunning authentic Maori carvings and a huge aquarium backdrop to the reception desk and a centrepiece to the lobby. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a non-smoking hotel with plenty of outdoor spaces for those who still like to. The Auckland Airport accommodation offers guests excellent hotel facilities, restaurant dining and access to attractions in and around the greater Auckland. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a great choice for families as children eat and sleep for free. The 250 spacious en-suite guest rooms have a contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. Holiday Inn hallmarks include showers with a massage option shower head, choice of soft or firm pillows and mattress toppers for a great night’s sleep. All rooms have been refurbished. In-room features include;* individually controlled air conditioning,* ensuite bathroom,* flat screen TV,* Sky TV channels,* in-room movies,* workspace/desk,* phone,* iPod docking station radio/alarm,* high speed internet access,* fridge,* complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. The refurbishment at the hotel has been a well constructed, modern design, that has given space back to the guest to relax in. All our standard rooms are 28 sq. m and feature contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. The guest rooms have been divided equally between Twin rooms with 2 double beds, and King rooms. Our King DELUXE has the added bonus of facing the beautiful centre courtyard gardens. We also have Nine Suites ranging from our Superior Tower Suites and Deluxe Spa Suites to our Super Deluxe Tower Suite. ALL our Suites have Spas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing