We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stains Happen and Apparently Gunshots Too!”

Airport Garden Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airport Garden Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stains Happen and Apparently Gunshots Too!”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My family booked into this hotel because it was close to the airport and inexpensive. It was not worth the money! The lobby was beautifully updated and deceptive. We assumed the rooms couldn't be that bad until we entered ours. The furniture was dingy and smelt of mold and the carpet was stained. The bathroom had a sink with fixtures that dated to the sixties(hot faucet & cold faucet separate). We stood on a towel inside the shower stall since the tiles were stained with mildew and who knows what. When we opened the sheets for one of our children, there were blood? stains on the bed. We requested new sheets and were told by the management that stains happen!! Finally, after insisting we received new bedding. However, we weren't sure how clean it was having gone by the laundry and noticing folded "clean" bedding sitting on the floor. The real excitement started that night as we attempted to get what little sleep we could before our early flight out. We heard some raised voices and then what sounded suspiciously like gunshots( not just one). It was enough to make my husband abandon all hope of sleep and prop a chair against the door and sit in it until we had to leave. None of us slept more than an hour or two and we would have been better off staying in the city. Pay the extra money and stay somewhere else especially if you have your kids with you! On the plus side, we weren't robbed and our kids will never forget their " adventure" stay at the Airport Garden Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnafuatavai, Owner at Airport Garden Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
In response to the review made by Diana K, who stayed at the Airport Garden Inn back in May, the hotel has a NEW MANAGEMENT TEAM, Mr & Mrs Patrick & Kathy Scanlon, who have been Managers at the hotel since mid June 2011. Pat is a past board member of the Motel Association of NZ.
Pat is the perfect host, while Kathy is very passionate about cleanliness in & around the hotel.
Together they have a vast experience of owning & running hotels & motels throughout NZ & are working extremely hard with their team to bring the Airport Garden Inn Hotel & Conference Centre up to a standard, I as the owner would be proud of.
Pat has also employed a NEW CHEF 'Madhu' previously from the Hotel Intercontinental Fiji & have added a new MENU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    13
    8
    26
See reviews for
15
22
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

After reading some reviews I was hesitant about booking here but I need not have been concerned. The new management have done a superb job of bringing it up to a great venue. My room was clean and though a little dated, it suited my needs just fine. The hotel is very quiet, staff are very helpful and courteous and all my needs were met. Our conference room was terrific, the teas and lunch tasty and a hit with the participants. Any extra things I asked for were delivered promptly. Also the free shuttle was a real bonus.I will be back here again.
Thank you
Chuck Marriott
AVAILLL NZ

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Booked this accomodation last minute on arrival at Auckland Int'l. The motel is fairly close to the airport, about 10 minutes' drive. Rooms need updating, but nothing shocking. Our room had an ancient heater/aircon unit, a fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, a good en-suite bathroom and two large single beds.
Reception staff were very friendly indeed, which makes all the difference. We had our evening meal in the restaurant, service was excellent and the meals & wine were good.
The small outdoor swimming pool was clean, pleasant and warm.
All in all, a good option if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay if you're taking a flight.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Due to the Chilean volcano ash , this was our second cancellation of a flight to Melbourne. Airline sent us here. About 30 odd travellers were sent there, we were in the 2nd return trip to this dump. Walked in, given our key and looked in the room. On way to room the corridor smelt like a urinal, but the better olfactory senses were challenged when the door was opened, Mould mould and more mould. Of the 4 couples that walked in 3 walked out and made collective plans for other options, Booked a contingency hotel, Back to Airport to complain to airline who put us in the the brand new Sudima. Chalk and cheese. From our comfort of this new hotel room read tripadvisor about this place and agreed with all the bad comments having stood in the room for less than 5 minutes before walking out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank degarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Sanbornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We booked here because it looked nice on the website and was close enough to the airport to shuttle. I did not want to drive tired so we took someplace close. Upon my arrival I was told not to go outside alone, not leave anything of value in my room at any point due to potential robbery and was horrified with dirtiness of room. As I did not have a rental car yet I was stuck at the hotel until the following day and was forced to eat at the hotel facility. The pool was dirty and a large glass table was shattered all over the pool deck and left with customers out there swimming. Food service was horrible, The staff could barely speak English and were very rude when I did not understand what they were saying. Also, sitting in the dining area I and other folks not of the native culture were ignored and served last every meal. Further, they tried to cheat me repeatedly on internet charges.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paidir65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Dated rooms with no ironing boards or hair dryers. Rooms have single beds that are truely singles (no fatties!!), and the rooms are poorly signed (not good when you have a party of 12 trying to find rooms at 9.00pm at night). The saving grace are the staff so technically the tarriff should go to them not the owner!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Allie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Found a dirty nappy & underwear under the bed unbelievable. Staff were very friendly

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazaknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.6 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
2.0 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Garden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Garden Inn Hotel

Property: Airport Garden Inn Hotel
Address: 10 Tidal Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Garden Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Garden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Garden Hotel Mangere
Best Western Auckland
Airport Garden Mangere
Airport Garden Inn Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing