We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our flight arrived late in the evening so this hotel was very convenient, about 4 minutes up the road from the airport. Our room was spacious, clean & quiet. The bed was comfortable. The room had a microwave, small fridge, space heater & ceiling fan but no air con. The bathroom was large but the vanity basin has nowhere to put your toiletries. Parking was free & right at our door.

The owners were very friendly & helpful. We had free wifi (200mb) & fresh milk for our coffee which was much appreciated....I hate those horrible little long life milk pods.

It was good value for money & we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi, thank you for the nice review and feedback. We love to hear from our guests and are glad you enjoyed our conveniences and service. We also have "Superior" rooms in our new block featuring updated furnishings and air conditioning for a slightly higher room rate. Hope to see you again :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    188
    65
    22
    8
See reviews for
86
191
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I was looking for accommodation close to Auckland Airport as I was arriving clse to midnight and the leaving again the following morning.
The Motor Lodge offers free airport transfers and these are available 24/7. I called following luggage collection and clearing customs and Joe, the Manager on duty arrived just a few minutes later to collect me. joe could not have been more helpful and that goes for all ther staff I met with over the few hours, breakfast, checkout, airport transfer the next day.
I had a studio unit that contained all the items I would expect and t was spotlessly clean. I received a wake up call as arranged and breakfast was also delivered at the time arranged and was very good value.
Given the amount of people coming and going (I suspect 24/7) the rooms are surprisingly quiet ad I slept very well.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage request a ground floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonynBarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for the kind review. It is our pleasure to provide friendly service and great facilities. Glad you found everything to your liking and thanks for staying :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed before an early flight to Europe for an extended stay of 5 weeks. Excellent room, excellent arrangements to transport us to/from the airport terminal, and an excellent deal on the parking. I will use this motel again whenever we fly from Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi, thank you for the kind review :) Glad you enjoyed our conveniences and found everything to your liking. See you again next time.

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was pleasantly surprised in staying at the BK Best Western - free airport transfer, free wifi, and when I needed to head into central Auckland, they arranged a discount cab for me that would've been cheaper than taking a regular cab. The rooms were spacious, clean, and the double even had a balcony. My only complaint is that I was charged $20 extra for a triple room, even though at the time of booking I booked a triple - this cost should've been upfront and included when I selected the 'triple' room. Or, they should've contacted me to let me know that this would be the situation.

You have to ask at the front desk for a wifi voucher, but they didn't hassle me about it and gave me an extra one for my folks, who were staying with me.

If you come in the winter, they also have tiny space heaters that you can turn on that are kind of loud, but definitely get the job done.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi there, thank you kindly for the review and feedback. As for the extra person charge, our official website and most major booking sites should ask for number of guests and add the extra person charge to the total bill at the time of booking, so that there are no surprise charges on arrival. However, we found a few sites which do not have this function (e.g. Orbitz) and we were told to write the extra person charge into the room description, which is easy to miss. We would recommend booking through our official site where all of the charges are added correctly to the bill.

Glad you otherwise found everything to your liking and thank you for staying :)

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is very close to the airport and the owner and his wife are very friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and a good size. Although it was near the road, we didn't find this to be too noisy.

We decided not to have breakfast from the hotel, only because we wanted to sleep in and combine breakfast with lunch and have it later, the weather was pretty miserable, raining hard, but we were able to borrow a big umbrella which was great. There are 2 restaurants and a cafe (for breakfast) within a 5 minute walk.

The free shuttle service is fantastic and quick.

My only negative is the website says free wifi, which is true, but, you only get 200mbs free, then have to pay for more if you need more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hi there, thank you kindly for the review. It is our pleasure to provide great facilities and all the conveniences you need.

Due to problems we have had with a few guests abusing our free internet connection with illegal downloads (which could lead our ISP to disconnect us completely, after 2 warnings) we are currently limiting internet use to 200mb per device, per day to help control this. If you do require additional data, then we are usually able to accommodate for this if you talk to reception staff.

Thanks again for staying with us :)

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was a great motel to stay at. We had two things we wanted: a free shuttle and Internet access. This hotel supplies both... They even picked us up at the rental car drop off which was great. Close to the airport, nice rooms, and a shop, restaurant up the street. Perfect airport motel!!!

Room Tip: The first time we stayed here we had the upstairs room in the corner...very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hi, thank you for your kind review. Glad you found everything to your liking. We always like to point out the nearby restaurant and shops around the corner as some guests might miss this handy convenience. Thanks again for staying with us :)

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have stayed here a couple of time's now for work and the place is always clean and tidy. They provide a free Airport pickup which was easy to use. The Continental breakfast was a good size and delivered on time.

Room Tip: Get a Room down the back of the complex away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev-Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hi there, thank you for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed our conveniences and found everything to your liking. See you again next time :)

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge

Property: Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
Address: 205 Kirkbride Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
#5 Business Hotel in Mangere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 4 minutes from the Auckland International Airport, New Zealand, Best Western BKs Pioneer Motor Lodge offers you quality, affordable accommodation. As our guest, you’ll enjoy our 24 hour courtesy airport shuttle service for the International and Domestic terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bks Pioneer Motor Hotel Mangere
Bks Pioneer Hotel
Bks Pioneer Motel
Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing