We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal airport stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed one night prior to a flight from Auckland Airport. Very comfortable, spacious room, with 2 rocker-recliner chairs as well as comfortable bed. Shuttle bus to terminal available on request. No aircraft noise. Very pleasant owners and receptionist(Dinah, I think). Only reason I gave 4, not 5, for sleep quality is that the outside light shone into the room through thin curtains so the room was not dark. Would have liked black-out blind. Would use this again if back in Auckland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hi there, thank you for your review. We have identified a couple of rooms where outside lighting leaks through the curtains at night and will try installing blackout curtains there. Glad you otherwise found everything to your liking and enjoyed your stay. Thanks for choosing us :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Agree with all other positive reviews - very clean, everything you need, reasonable price, etc. My understanding is that the shuttle runs every 30 min. Our flight arrived @ 6:30 AM and they graciously allowed us to check in that early, as they had an open room, which we really, really appreciated. And I burned up my 200MB wifi allotment in minutes trying to transfer iPhone photos over the cloud to an iPad, so beware of that. They gave me another wifi coupon but only 50MB; wifi is at a premium in NZ & AUS. Just past the Grand Chancellor hotel on Kirkbride, 150 meters or so, is a strip with small grocery/liquor stores, nice bakery, excellent Indian/Chinese restaurant and a continental place we didn't try. The city bus stops there and is very handy for going into the City Center for only $5.60 or so, about an hour trip.

Room Tip: Detached section appears newer, but all areas are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi there, thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed our facilities and service. We try to point out the local stores and restaurants as they are so close but easy to miss as they are around a bend. The Indo-chinese restaurant is a popular one with our guests.

It's true Internet access is not as "free" in NZ, as compared to say USA, but we try to provide a fair system which allows for the majority of users while preventing people from abusing our limited connection. We may look at expanding the 200MB data cap for guests based on feedback. We can also allow for business guests who may require extra data for work.

The detached building is in fact a block of newer units. To book these rooms you can select any of our "Superior" units rather than "Deluxe". They feature full air-conditioning and newer furnishings for a slightly higher room rate.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I needed a place to stay immediately as I had a horrible experience at another hotel and just wanted to get to another place. I called them and this very pleasant lady answered and said she has a room available. Check in time was supposed to be 1pm.
As I wanted to check out of the other hotel, I drove over to Best Western very early, about 10.30am. I went in to the reception to confirm my reservation and to have a look at the room. The nice pleasant lady, said that since I am already there, she will let me check in as the room was already ready. A very friendly gentleman, showed us to our room, showed us how to operate the equipment in the kitchenette and to let them know if we need anything.
Room is very, very nicely designed...pleasant colours and 2 Lazy-boy chairs for when we watch TV. TV reception is very, clear. Free wifi connection has very good connection!!!! Such a diffirence from my previous place...Am so glad we moved over here..only regret is that I should have found this place earlier! Staff are very friendly, room is very cosy and well-renovated...very clean!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeSQTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi there, thank you for the nice review. We pride ourselves on providing great service, facilities and convenience. Glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for choosing us :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for a night during a stopover in Auckland and would stay again. Conveniently close to the airport (so don't stay here if you want to see central Auckland); friendly, helpful staff; clean, comfortable rooms. A little on the pricey side, but aren't all airport hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi there, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for choosing us :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stay here with my wife for a couple of days, and we did enjoy our stay. The rooms were clean, large living room and spa and the staff were very helpful when we check in and check out. It has everything you need for a short stop over. It is quiet although it is on the main road.

We love staying here, and we will definitely return when we are in Auckland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi there, thanks for the kind review. Glad you found everything to your liking, we love to hear from our guests. See you again next time :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

There is no point trying to keep this a secret, this place is already becoming enormously popular as the pick of Auckland's airport accommodation so I won't even bother to try. Instead I'll tell you that if saving every single dollar is not your over riding priority (and I know that for some travelers it has to come down to that consideration) then you have the best choice in this property. And that is not to say that it is hugely expensive, there are simply cheaper options available but, if ever the saying, 'You get what you pay for' came into play then this is a prime example.

Everything I list below starts with the word wonderful (I just don't want to have to type it over and over again).

Staff.
Rooms.
Transfers.
Communication.
Extras included (wifi and tea, coffee, milk etc - even a copy of the NZ Herald).

I have just the two little points to note (one that can't be helped and one that could be rectified).

Parking is at a premium (that's the cost of this place being so popular and not a huge property). There needs to be a bit more shelving available for toiletries in the bathroom.

Apart from that - stay here if you want a great pre or post nights accommodation before traveling overseas.

Room Tip: We've booked an upstairs room for our next stay due to me being a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi there, thank you for the lovely review. It is our pleasure to provide convenience, great facilities and service at a reasonable price. We always love to hear from our guests who appreciate it. In the busy months our carpark can get quite full but we can usually shift some of the Scotties on-site rental cars out back to make room for all. See you next time :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights recenty (as Auckland was our stopover between flights). Booked at the BKs motor lodge after reading positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet with a small kitchenette. Good showers. I normally always ask for a top floor room (since we tend to get "active" children above us otherwise). If you ask for a top floor though, there are no elevators here..but we managed just fine. There is a free shuttle to/from the airport... the owners were very pleasant and accommodating and we so enjoyed talking with them. The room was decently priced. Would recommend staying here and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi there, thank you for the kind review. We aim to provide great service and value, and love hearing from our guests. Glad you enjoyed everything. Our staff are available 24/7 and are happy to help with carrying bags to the upper floor rooms. Hope to see you again :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.8 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.5 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge

Address: 205 Kirkbride Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mangere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 4 minutes from the Auckland International Airport, New Zealand, Best Western BKs Pioneer Motor Lodge offers you quality, affordable accommodation. As our guest, you’ll enjoy our 24 hour courtesy airport shuttle service for the International and Domestic terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bks Pioneer Motor Hotel Mangere
Bks Pioneer Hotel
Bks Pioneer Motel
Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing