We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“served its purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“served its purpose”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed one night after arriving from UK, the bed was glorious and the sheets were clean and crisp, lovely shower and the tea and coffee etc., most adequate. Would not stay for holiday due to location but it did what it said on the label very well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpool065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    184
    63
    21
    8
See reviews for
85
189
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel was perfect for my one night in Auckland before taking an early flight the next day and I will definitely use it again. When I arrived at Auckland airport I found the information desk and rang the hotel on the courtesy phone. I was picked up 10 minutes later. The room I had was spotlessly clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. I was given a container of fresh milk for tea and coffee on arrival (Dilmah tea), what a delight after 3 weeks in the USA! There was a small kitchen with microwave, a queen size bed, two Lazy-boy chairs and a small table and chairs. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean and the shower was the best I had had all holiday.
There is free WiFi (though limited download), and if you have more than one device the reception will give you another code.
Just down the road, a 5 minute walk, were two restaurants, a pharmacy and a grocery shop. The area felt very safe and pleasant.
I went for a fabulous walk past the cemetery, strawberry and corn fields to the Mangere Domain, a extinct volcano. There are not many cities in the world where you can take such a marvellous walk right near the city airport. If you had a car there seemed to be quite a few good things to do in the local area too.
The hotel gave me a wake up call at 4:30 the next morning and drove me to the airport. The hotel car was very comfortable and safe.

Room Tip: I had one of the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HypatiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi, thank you for the kind review. Glad you enjoyed all of our conveniences and quality facilities, as well as the things to do very near our location. We try to point these out to our guests as many people don't realise they exist tucked around the corner, a short walk. Thank you for staying with us :)

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Not bad but nothing to write home about. It was safe, secure and very close to the airport for our early flight (4 mins away). The price was s little high but given the costs in NZ for most decent rooms and the proximity to the airport it was probably about right.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi, thank you for the review. Glad you found everything to your liking and hope you enjoyed your time in NZ. Thank you for choosing us.

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The front desk was friendly and helpful. Our room did not have air-conditioning, but did have ceiling fan. Stayed for two nights, in a queen bed studio room with spa that was big enough for two. Over all nice looking both inside and out. Laundry was at great priced, FREE!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi there, thank you for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and found our laundry convenient :) Thanks again for staying.


Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Friendly staff on arrival. Cups stained and kitchen brush had dark hair entwined in the bristles. Spa bath expelled multiple pieces of black ? Three attempts later, still not clean! Left early via their shuttle service, prompt and pleasant driver. Phoned management on arrival home to no avail re over price rooms for cleanliness and lack of relaxation resource!

Room Tip: Check spa bath jets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarenSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi, thanks for your feedback. My apologies about the situation with the spa bath. The spa itself was certainly cleaned but the black stuff coming out turned out to be chocolate(!) jammed within the pump. The previous guest had made a huge mess of the spa and all of this was cleaned up, however we didn't realise that chocolate was jammed in the spa pump and this is what was coming out when you ran it. Yes it just keeps coming out even after we run the water through several times. What a mess!

Again, we are very sorry about your experience and thanks for letting us know. We offered a refund however our staff had a problem with the international transfer and we would like to mail you a cheque instead but we do not have your contact details. Can you please email info@bkspioneer.com to let us know your details for the refund.

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

After booking a room through Orbitz, upon arrival the Indian owner tried to charge us more. Eventually we got the room with no extra charge, but it was not a good start. The hotel is in a good location close to the airport, the room was beautiful and very clean, new or newly updated, but the shower was clogged. Pros: free wi-FI, free daily milk for tea, fully furnished kitchenette.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17suzan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. I can assure, that in no way did we try to cheat you. The room description in our Orbitz listing clearly states "Rates are for 1-2 people. Maximum occupancy is 4. Extra Adult NZ$20 per night. Extra Child NZ$20 per night."

The website you booked through was Orbitz which for some reason does not allow us to charge an extra person fee through the web booking interface, instead they told us to state in the room description what the extra person charge is. Most Orbitz guests are happy to pay this at checkin. We may have to look at deleting the listing off Orbitz if they do not allow us to make the charge more obvious because we understand that some people may not read it and feel "cheated" to have to pay it at check-in.

Thanks again for the review and glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

A very friendly, clean place to stay close to the Auckland airport. With plenty of car parking for a week with a courtesy shuttle to and from the airport. The Indian couple are both very friendly and courteous. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi, thank you for the kind review. Glad you enjoyed our convenient facilities and breakfast.

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
Address: 205 Kirkbride Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
#5 Business Hotel in Mangere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 4 minutes from the Auckland International Airport, New Zealand, Best Western BKs Pioneer Motor Lodge offers you quality, affordable accommodation. As our guest, you’ll enjoy our 24 hour courtesy airport shuttle service for the International and Domestic terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bks Pioneer Motor Hotel Mangere
Bks Pioneer Hotel
Bks Pioneer Motel
BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing