We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - Average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location - Average stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

As we were flying out to LA the next day, we opted to stay at a local airport motel instead of having the hassle of staying in Auckland city or driving the next day.
Even though it was convienient, the motel was pretty average. We had to pay for internet access.
There wasn't anywhere close to get food, we went for a 15 min walk down the road to a local takeout restaurant called The Bar & Baa Restaurant which was ok.....otherwise there is a grocery store next to restaurant that sells microwave food that you can cook in the room.
The breakfast in the morning was the bare minimum, but luckily we were happy with just toast & spreads and cereal.
They did however have a free shuttle to the airport which was the main reason we stayed there. It was timely and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out to the road as opposed to your next door neighbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our airport location. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests.

Just for your information we had a hotel restaurant just by the motel.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    96
    97
    56
    97
See reviews for
101
143
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This review is of our first stay on flying OUT of NZ. Very average service at front desk.The desk administration tried to charge us again ( we had booked online) and also was going to charge a credit card fee when we were using Debit Plus card.
Impression of the room was of a somewhat " lack of pride" by the owners/housekeeper. Nets over the sliding door were full of creases and the room smelt of ? fish?? Both valances on the beds were dirty with visible stains and ? food on them . The kitchen sink was stained and had not been cleaned properly in a long time I would think.There were no plugs for either the kitchen sink or the bathroom unit. we went over to reception and asked for some but nothing was forthcoming.
Shower pressure was pitiful ( I could have got a better shower by standing in the rain) and the control was extremely touchy. You would get the temperature right then it would suddenly change on its own and you would be scalded by the hot water. Very very dangerous.
It did have a complimentary shuttle service to the airport which was great and we were able to leave our own vehicle at the hotel ( It was untouched while we were away )

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel next door where the breakfast is, one of their guests told me there premier room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liberated_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Penelopewood

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our motel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at shalend@vrgroup.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm Regards,
Akld Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
403 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We booked our room (about 1/2 the usual New Zealand rate) for our last night. The hote; has complimentary van to airport. I took our rental car back and they came to get me without complaint. They had computers so we could print our boarding passes and had 4 AM departure and again the van timely.
We did eat in the restaur and it was jadequate.
This hotle is NOT a destination hotel but for what we needed it FIT THE BILL FINE

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOCBABE_SCOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking out your precious time on commenting on your recent stay with us.

We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our good product and service.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Most disappointing stay - You get what you pay for with this establishment - poor service on arrival. Was shown to a room that was definitely NOT like the one pictured on the website, nor the one quoted. Be aware that this same establishment goes under different names, probably to confuse the traveller. There is no differenciation between hotel and motel. Rooms are poorly maintained and serviced. Bedding shabby to say the least. A NEW Premier Studio is nothing short of a cow-boy renovation job in honest kiwi terms. The website suggests NEW - not newly painted! Our complimentary drive to airport was very hairy and in a dodgey, questionable van that smoked and the driver over revved its guts out - bearly roadworthy I would imagine. Third world country standard only! Breakfast was the bear minimum offerings. Money would be better spent seeking out a truly kiwi establishment run the old fashioned kiwi way. Happy travels, wise travellers!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this establishment unless you want to easily hear the next door neighbour talking, sn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear George

Thanks for taking out time on commenting on your recent stay with us.

Am very disappointed that you were not able to enjoy our product and service.

You had raised a lot of issue which is a concern to me and would be very grateful if you email (shalend@vrgroup.co.nz) me this along with your stay day so that I can get your exact stay details in order to have these issue addressed.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Pros: The rooms are clean and tidy. We were able to rest well in the room before our early morning flight. It's close to the airport. The room had all our necessary facilities.

Cons: Our shower head wasn't very good as not much water came out when it was turned on. Our booking included free breakfast but our flight was at 6am. We asked the staff if they could give us a few things the night before so that we could eat something before our flight but they said no. We do not believe it was too much to ask for and other motels do give some things if they know you wont be able to come for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Ruba85

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us and I am extremely embarrassed to read about the experience.
I think you had overlooked on our room service as tea and coffee making facilities are provided in the room.
Our restaurant is outsourced and timing is well informed to the guest through our web site and/or agent’s site.
I hope your comments might be different if breakfast was given before restaurant hours.
Thanks for using us for your accommodation on your visit to Auckland.
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed overnight on 23/24 Feb to see our daughter back to teaching in Japan. The motel room was, as expected, clean tidy and fresh-smelling. As with our two earlier stays we did notice little areas in need of minor repairs but overall an economical and comfortable place to stay. The complementary breakfast after a busy early trip to the parking-Overpriced! airport was a much- appreciated end to our stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Neville S,

Thanks for your comment on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you and your family had been enjoying our product and service.

We look forward to provide you and your family better product and service on your next stay with us.

Thanks
GM- Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed one night after touching down in Auckland before moving down south. The family room was comfortable and clean with all amenities and cooking facilities. Only downside was that the hotplate was not working properly, but we resolved this with the receptionist and they let us in into different room so we could cook our meal. Good location near airport and for exploring Auckland and its surroundings if you have your own transport.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal_K82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Hi Michal

Thanks for your comment on your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage airport location and service.. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


With Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.0 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
273 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

Property: Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Address: 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We're delighted you are considering a stay at the Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel. You'll be pleased you did - Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel located within 5 km to Auckland Airport and 17 km to Auckland City. Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel is the perfect choice for your accommodation needs to catch that early flight, stay after a long flight or visit friends or relatives near Auckland Airport and Manukau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel Mangere
Kiwi International Airport Mangere
Hotel Kiwi International Airport
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing