We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good good nice place and pick up form airport here :)))”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airport Skyway Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good good nice place and pick up form airport here :)))”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The lodge good a clean and nice place , clean swimming pool ,24 hr hot spa and good transport form airport on whole day !!!! And owner also friendly and helpful :) , very lovely !!!! Thank you /:)

剛剛到Auckland 機場,老闆就準時來接我到旅館,其實當時已經是晚上了。他很熱情和向我講解當地的事情。我很喜歡這時有游池,Spa ,地方也相當潔淨,我最喜歡廚房不但清潔用品也很齊全。我離開Nz 前一晚也住這些,這是貪他的接送,不用安排太多,很可靠。

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    23
    19
    10
    23
See reviews for
9
43
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is a great stopover.

We booked here as we were originally due to fly out early next morning & the Lodge is close to the airport. Scott kindly picked us up & dropped us off at the airport.

The lodge itself is old but clean and definitely has everything you need in a short stay. Scott is welcoming and kind, helpful & informative.

I would definitely stay there again. Thanks Scott.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ufoundlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The lodge isn't much to look at from the outside and on first appearances, it does look like it could do with a bit of maintence, however inside it is very clean and inviting. We were greeted by the owner, a lovely lady who quickly checked us in even though we were a few ours early, she also upgraded our room to one with a bathroom for no extra charge. The hotel offer a shuttle service to the airport which is $5 per person and unlimited internet which is $7 per person - which I think is very reasonable - we were able to download a few movies and tv programmes from iTunes to watch on the plane, as there was no cap.

The lounge area is lovely, big comfy seats, wood burning fire, large tv and dining area, they also offer a book exchange and plenty travel guides which is handy. There is a nice swimming area and jacuzzi (which we didn't use as it was cold and rainy in Auckland) but it looked lovely. The kitchen was well maintained and we were able to cook our own dinner. The lodge is also located conveniently within 5 minutes walk of a bakery, a few restaurants and a store.

The rooms are a nice size, clean, alarm clocked provided and nice shower. There was also tea and coffee making facilities.

The only small gripe we would have is that we booked our airport shuttle for 7.30am and in fact we didn't leave the Lodge until just before 8am - Scott the other owner had already left to take other customer to the airport. His wife didn't apologise and explained he would be back in ten minutes, but it was nearly 30 before he arrived - we were very close to booking a taxi ourselves. When Scott did arrive he was very apologetic and got us to the airport ASAP, the hosts are lovely, but I would say as a piece of feedback - if you agree to take guests at a certain time, especially when they have flights to catch - stick to the schedule or rearrange the time. This late drop off meant we were caught in all the major check in traffic and had to rush through to departures.

In all and all, I Would still highly recommend this place. Great for a one night stay before flights :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelchicka2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Confortable bed, clean swimming pool, 24hrs SPA, unlimited WIFI(only 7 dollars) well equipped kitchen and free tea and coffee. I can stay in the living room the whole day after I checked out. Scott will pick you up from the airport whenever you arrived, and give you some valuable information about traveling in New Zealand.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronPiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This property nickles and dimes you for everything! Airport pick-up is charged at $5 a person and Internet is charged at $7 a day per person.
Another curiosity: once you check-out (STRICTLY at 10am) you must be completely OFF THE PREMISES. They won't even allow you to sit there and wait for your flight and will even charge you ($2 per bag) for luggage storage if you need them to keep it for you for anything more then 2 hours.

This could all be tolerable if:
1. All or most other properties in the area were doing the same; and/or
2. their prices were much cheaper then other properties around the airport.

Based on our personal experience (we paid $69 for a double room), neither 1 or 2 above are true. I suggest you look elsewhere and do not compromise on:
1. FREE airport hotel pick-up and drop-off; and
2. FREE WiFi internet
There are plenty of properties who will offer you that in the area for the same price. The market for accommodation around Auckland airport seems very competitive so make the most of that as a consumer of travel services.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed here twice on our travels. The rooms are good and clean and the communal area is nice and homely but it's the owners that make it a really nice place to stay.On our second visit we were staying there after all our stuff was stolen from a camper van and they helped us wherever they could - gave us free use of the net to sort out things, gave us a backpack to use as all ours were taken and even offered to make us bacon and eggs!!! If ever we're passing that way again we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Let me set the scene....It was cold, rainy day at Auckland International Airport. After disembarking from a horrendous near death experience flight from Sydney on LAN airways and having to wait what seemed like 4 years of waiting to get through customs. We decided to get a taxi to the hotel as the weather was horrible and although we knew that the hotel offered free transfers, we couldn't be bothered to wait so just jumped in the first one we saw...Big mistake. I'm pretty sure the driver took us a long way round and we ended up paying around $20 just for a 10 minute journey. When we finally got to the hotel we were greeted by one of the owners, a very friendly woman who showed us to our rooms and gave us lots of information about how to get into the city if we wanted too. Big mistake 2... We decided to take the local bus into Auckland and it is a journey that can only be described as one of the worst of our lives. I will not bore you of the details but being on that bus made both of us realise we were 12,000 miles away from the garden of eden that is South Yorkshire. 2 hours later we arrived in the city centre of Auckland and literally stayed 10 minutes before we made the 2 hour journey back. Had a McDonalds and did one. To be fair the rain torrential and it got dark at 4. We made it back to the comfort of the hotel and had a wonderful night. We got to know everyone that was staying there, we met some amazing people that I hope we are life long friends with. We only stayed the night before we flew down to Queenstown....but experience will be reviewed in another contribution. On our way back to Auckland we stayed the night again at the Skyway before we flew out to L.A. Wow...the second room we stayed in was AMAZING!!!! It was so spacious, the bathroom was proper massive. The room had a radio and everything which we listened too all night!. They also provided tea and coffee facilities in the room which was an extra special little treat..especially because we had to get up so early for our flight. Those black coffees treat us well. The ultimate highlight for us however was New Zealand's greatest national ambassador, the owner Scottie TOO Hottie. This man MADE our trip and we will always have fond memories of him. Praise where its due Scottie. You did yourself and your country proud. Keep up the good work. All in all, this hotel is great value for money. The rooms are excellent and as I said before, we met some of the greatest people in the world here. Had a fantastic stay here and would recommend to anyone...the fact we were viciously bit by bed bugs didn't even matter!

Room Tip: Don't take the 2 hour bus into Auckland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FdScCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Skyway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Skyway Lodge

Property: Airport Skyway Lodge
Address: 30 Kirkbride Road, Mangere 1701, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport Skyway Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airport Skyway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Skyway Hotel
Airport Skyway Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing