We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scott is the definition of hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airport Skyway Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Amazing place, have stayed there 3 different times because of the service and hard work that scott puts into his guests. I arrived in Auckland seperately with my gf and I was arriving later so I wanted to make sure my gf was taken care of. At 1045 pm scott went to the airport and picked my gf up which I thought was amazing as it was very late. I arrived at 1 am and scott was still up and was waiting to make sure I arrived ok. Lovely place and im going to be heading back for the 4th time just because of how conveinent and close it is to the airport and because of the cleanliness,service and atmosphere. Top notch place and I HIGHLY recomend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2009

I booked a double room for my partner and myself.

When we arrived early, we were not really welcomed well or informed clearly that rooms were not ready to be checked into.

Walking through the lodge, carpets were well worn and dirty. It was not at all appealing so my partner and i were not looking forward to seeing the rooms or staying there.

we asked for a refund as the lodge does not really look anything like it is advertised on the internet! we were refused as the lady manager/owner did not really seem to understand my point that we were not staying as it did not look like the quality of room advertised on the net. we were given half our money back.....

there are much better accomodation options on the same road for the same price with free drops off to the airport.

be wary of what you see advertised on the net and shop around instead!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wotwot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Skyway Lodge is a fabulous choice for late evening arrivals or early morning departures from Auckland International Airport.

Just minutes away, Skyway lodge offers generous private rooms or dormitory beds at backpacker prices. A spacious great room and kitchen provide guests with plenty of space and comfort to relax and share information and experiences in a warm, intimate atmosphere.

Large enough to virutally guarantee year-round availability, but small enough to enable Scott and his wife to assure personalized service, including free airport transfers any time of the day or night.

There is also a public bus stop directly across the street that offers the most affordable transport into the heart of the city and almost anywhere else as well as a grocery store, liquor shop, farmers market and restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

Not ideal for long-term stays, I suppose, but much better than anywhere else in the immediate vicinity of the airport, which is a surprisingly pleasant semi-rural residential area.

I will definitely stay there again next time.

Best regards,

Daniel Lintz
Tokyo, Japan

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lintz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

A pretty basic style of accommodation a couple of notches above a backpacker but certainly not plush. Good value at the price.

Very helpful and courteous owners Scott and Judy make no pretence about the set up and aim to keep it clean, comfortable, simple and friendly. They will also collect and return to airport at any hour and at a reasonable cost, which is a great bonus.

Motel units are OK. Rooms in main house are either ensuite or share bathrooms. Shared kitchen/Dining/common room with TV and external pool/BBQ area.

Great for stopovers only 5-10 minutes from the airport, but still 45minutes into town. A bus stop right outside gets you there for next to nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RichardE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

PLEASE TAKE THE TIME TO READ - ESPECIALLY IF YOUR A WOMEN TRAVELLING ALONE -
**********************************************************************
I booked a room by phone after visiting the hotels website. I specifically asked for my own room at the time of booking and advised that i didnt mind sharing the kitchens and bathrooms.

I arrived late at the hotel (approx 10.30pm) and was shown to my room. I was horrified to be shown to a motel unit shared by another 2 females in which i was unable to lock my room. The Manager had to wake these 2 women up as they had put the latch on the door so that i could be shown to my room.

I refused to sleep there due to the fact i wanted a room that i could lock my door, especially as i didnt know the other women i was sharing a motel unit with.

I was then given a motel unit to sleep in. I went into the kitchen to make myself a cup of tea. The cups were all very dirty and i had to wash one up before i could use it. I was suprised to see that there was no milk in the fridge either.

I was woken on several occasions by banging and the sound of the Manager asking the 2 women in the motel unit next to me to open the door.

I didnt feel safe at all. Especially as i heard the latch on my front door go.

Then at 1am in the morning as id drifted off to sleep, i was awoken to an unknown women standing in the motel kitchen. I believe she was the owner???

I was TERRIFIED. I didnt know who this women was and why she was standing there. I was given no reason why.

Terrified i got dressed and went to see the person who had shown me to my room but i was unable to contact him. At this time the women was still walking in the motel unit.

I was about to leave and was then asked by the women for my keys, I demanded my $60 back which i got and so i handed back the keys.

As i left she did a gester to refer to me as crazy. I asked her what type of place she was running!!

So I DO NOT recommend staying here. I booked here because the lonely planet recommended it and it was near to the airport. I think i would have rather spent an extra $40 and felt safe and had a goods night sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank G1ggl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

If you want a clean, homely, quiet and friendly hostel for the night near the airport- this is the one for you :) It is a 5 minute car journey away from the airport and the owner offers a very cheap taxi to get you there. It is clean and comfortable and we arrived to a walm and welcoming reception. Although you may have to check out at 10am- the owner allows you to use the hostels facilities all day (which is a real bonus if you have a late flight like we did). I would certainly use this hostel again :)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank racheljharries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

My friend and I stayed here before our long flight to Heathrow, UK.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating. We were allowed to leave our suticases there all day while we explored Auckland and we knew our belongings would be looked after. There is a large living room with TV and cheap internet and a cosy log burning fire.
The bathrooms were clean, with free soap and shower gel and great showers!
The rooms were a good size, clean and fresh.
We paid very little for such great service and would happily recommend Skyway Lodge to any of our friends!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HarrietBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
2.6 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Skyway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Skyway Lodge

Address: 30 Kirkbride Road, Mangere, Auckland 1701, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport Skyway Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Airport Skyway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Skyway Hotel
Airport Skyway Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing