We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ok. Shuttle Service Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have stayed here a number of times over the past 2-3 years. It is a convenient stop over for us when fly from Auckland Airport as they offer free parking while you are away. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are friendly. On the last 2 occasions we have been left waiting at the terminal for over an hour after we have phoned to arrange a shuttle pick up on our return. The last time was the 2nd November 2013. After phoning the hotel several times we were finally picked up and returned to our vehicle. We spoke to the duty manager who told us that they hadn't received our call. She promised to look into the problem and email us within 2 working days to advise what had been done to stop this from happening again. Its now a month later and we haven't heard from them. Appalling customer service from management when the staff had been so good during our stay. We wont be back there again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshGroveMotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear AshGroveMotel,

Thank you for your comments.
I totally agree with you and can only apologise on behalf on the team member who did follow through on her promise.
With your perission I will print the comment and use it for our inernal training session.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies and I hope that you will change your mind and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

The pros, it has speedy and close delivery for a early am flight. The bed was alright, room was clean. Staff were helpful and curious. Cons- the wifi works thru the Tv, if u could get it to work. Heard other guess grumbling about the wifi as well. The restaurant has very few selections and if you are looking for gluten free or non white flour options, forget it. Hot pockets and such here. $40 dollar fee for early check in, before 2pm, this always irks me in this part of the world but maybe the standard. The hallways had me nervous when I checked in, seem bit worn and non inviting, but the room was ok. Isn't trendy by any means but a clean place to rest your head. I prob wouldn't stay again, I'd spend a couple extra bucks and book next door or do Novotel at the airport.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Cursive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Cursive9

Thank you for your comments.
I'm glad that our location, shuttle, room and the friendliness of our staff was to your satisfaction.
We are planning a complete change in the food and beverage department next year and your constructive point is gladly accepted.

Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Close to Auckland Airport, we used this hotel as we were due to collect a motor home from Britz which is within easy walking distance. The reception staff suggested leaving our luggage in reception, collecting the motor home, then returning for our luggage with the vehicle. This was a great suggestion which, I am sad to say we had not thought of! Pleasant , functional room gave no reason to moan. We thought the breakfast charges were a bit on the pricy side.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Mike D,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm very pleased to read that our front staff helped you with the storage of your luggages.
I respect your comment about our breakfast but I can assure you that $17.00 for a full continental breakfast is well priced.

I hope you are enjoying your time in New Zealand and only leave with great memories.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The staff went out of their way to accomodate travel arrangements and trasport to and from the airport during a recent stay. Bar staf and reception staff were great as well. Rooms area clean and quiet. Great for an overnighter between flights and only a couple of kilomoters from the airport. Shuttle bus runs every 30 minutes. Great value and great staff..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear AdrianS,

Thank you very much for your positive comments that I shared with the team.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here just after arriving at Auckland airport before beginning a trip around the North Island.

The check in staff were helpful and welcoming. The foyer / bar area always appeared a hive of activity as the hotel was hosting a lot of bus tours.

The room was spotless, and more than adequately met our needs. The bathroom was very good, the shower head was at a good height and the water pressure was strong.

The air conditioner was semi effective, but only partly cooled the room down when on its lowest temperature and highest fan setting.

We noticed that some of the lights above the beds were not operational, however we dutifully left a note for the staff.

All and all was a positive stay, didn't cost the earth, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gondwana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Gondwana80,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I'm delighted to read that our team made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for the little maintenance note, we do appreciate it.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Thanks
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times before, but when the hotel traded under different names (previously Ventura Inn, Bella Vista). Though very well placed for proximity to the international airport and well-priced meals are now available, together with long term parking, the negatives are that new owners have applied a surcharge for using a credit card, significantly increased room rates and parking is now available with an additional payment - all of which used to be inclusive in the lesser rate. In other respects, service is adequate (often with a wait), food is good and budget friendly, and complimentary transport to an from the airport 24-7 is a bonus,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcemanSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Iceman Steve,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our food and appreciate the free shuttle service.
Our room entry rate hasn't changed at $109.00 and we do have packages available on our website or through our Central reservation where the parking is included.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope that we will welcome you again.
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Agree with Bill E.
Certainly gone down in all area's
Stayed about 15 to 20 times will certainly be looking at other options from now on,
Reasons
Price started off paying $109 now $139 not worth that
Breakfast wasn't included and for a cheap continental $17.00 is way over the top
Also hotel not even half full ,ordered and paid well in advance still we were given a room facing the main road with no double glazing, room was old and tired

Room Tip: Ask for one in the newer part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Warren S,

I'm sorry to read that your last stay wasn't to your staisfaction.

Our starting price is still $ 109 GST inclusive and our continental breakfast is $17.00 however we also have, available everyday, an a la carte menu for you to choose from.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.6 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Address: 14 Airpark Drive, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#5 Family Hotel in Mangere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: £97 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 5 minutes drive of Auckland International and Domestic Airport, Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport offers a convenient, comfortable, clean, affordable and spacious airport stopover accommodation solution for individuals, families or special interest groups. Other great benefits include FREE local phone calls FREE WI-FI FREE airport shuttle pickups and drop offs, friendly and welcoming yet informal kiwi style hospitality. Our property features an outdoor swimming pool and spa, plenty of onsite parking, conference facilities, a breakfast room and a lobby bar serving light meals and refreshments. For a more subtantial food offering there are several eateries within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Airport
Ventura Hotel Mangere
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing