We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“missed dining experience”
Review of Bar & Baa

Bar & Baa
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Mangere
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Logan City, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“missed dining experience”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

unfortunately we did not get a chance to try this restaurant but the menu looked to have a lot of mouth-watering dishes at reasonable prices. the restaurant was clean and well presented. when we return to this area Baa & Baa will be one of our first visits.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jonghay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    32
    7
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockdale, Australia
Level Contributor
553 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Only called in because my hotel locally was boring !!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Called into BAR BAA on 2 separate occasions on the 7/2/14 & 22/7/14, I was staying in a local hotel which had a restaurant but looked uninviting with a boring atmosphere & only a couple of diners. Therefore the receptionist at the hotel suggested I take a 10 minute walk to the local group of businesses In Mangere. I'm walking past just taking a look & approached by some pushy guy like a salesman selling time-shares, he eventually encouraged me to go in & after peeping through the menu I decided on the special Fish & Chips with a Cool Ginger Beer, the meal took around 10-15 minutes to be served & again the guy appeared over polite !!!! Anyway I'm starving after flying in from Sydney & had not eaten on the aircraft. The meal portion was a good size serving & tasted OK, if I'm really honest the Ginger Beer was more pleasurable than the meal & paid NZD $24.90 using my C/Card. Called in again on the 22/2/14 & this time paid NZD $33.90 & sorry can't remember what I ordered & see through my pics. The restaurant appeared to attract many other tourists & locals with a SO SO atmosphere. It was the convenience from my hotel & not so much the quality food that attracted me !!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
205 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Bar and Baa - but not Bah!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Pleasant cafe with tables outside and in, friendly staff and very good menu. Enjoyed the meal very much, especially as I accompanied it with a glass of red wine, followed by another Kiwi beer. Good choice for those staying at one of the many motels nearby.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarumanthewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Got conned into the place by a smooth-talking front man. Were told that the Greek cook was new and that we were in for a treat. The young lady that was supposedly cleaning up moved about at absolute snail pace and gave the impression that she couldn't care less about what she was supposed to be doing. The place was a mess, so was the food and so was the "service". We wish we had gone elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bf_clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

It was lovely being picked up from our motel. But being told to walk home in the dark after being yeld at by the manager and being told I was a very bad person, for something that was clearly his fault I found utterly concerning.
The food was over priced and over cooked. My partner who is highly allergic to nuts when asking what was in her dish prior to ordering, was told very little, there was no mention of nuts on the menu yet many other dishes stated so. Then when going to pay was asked to pay for the extra dish that's when it all started.... I feel sorry for the other customers that had to witness that. If you have been in business for 19 years you should know better.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar & Baa also viewed

Mangere, Auckland Region
Mangere, Auckland Region
 
Mangere, Auckland Region
Manukau, Auckland Region
 

Been to Bar & Baa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing