We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having read the comments below, we were a little wary of what we would find, but we were pleasantly surprised.”
Review of The Mill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mill House
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We are visiting New Zealand from the UK and have been driving around south island. We tried the Mill House as we prefer heritage-style accommodation with some degree of local character.

Having read the comments below, we were a little wary of what we would find, but we were pleasantly surprised. The new owner has done a marvellous job of the renovations and our room was spacious and fresh with loads of light and a lovely outlook over the garden behind. The main entrance and restaurant area had some lovely artefacts and pictures of the original state of the mill, and Karen the owner was very happy to chat and explain where the original mill race had been and what the recent history of the building was.

There is a lovely garden area behind the main building, and we enjoyed walking down to the stream and listening to the native birds.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fadontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kairos73, Owner at The Mill House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for your review!
We have put a lot of effort into updating and improving The Mill House (with much to still do, of course) and appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Was visiting friends in the area so booked in for a night. Ended up arriving quite late, but phoned ahead and the manager was friendly and seemed grateful for the heads up.

Unfortunately arrived too late for dinner so had a beer in the restaurant instead. The chef was trying out new ideas in the kitchen and came out with a free piece of freshly cooked salmon (he said it was just delivered from Twizel that evening) for us to try. Can happily say it's the best I've had (think: moist and creamy with lemon and sage), thanks!! Had a few more beers on the terrace out the back and enjoyed a very pleasant summer evening.

The room was good - in main building, looked recently renovated, comfy bed, new bed linen, nice hot shower with good water pressure etc.

Sadly left early so didn't get a chance to sample the cooked breakfast (it smelled good) but had a quick Nespresso instead. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2468goodonyamate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kairos73, Owner at The Mill House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and continue to strive to keep improving the 'customer experience'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Yes this is accommodation that could do with an update BUT it all works and it is all very clean and also tell me where you can now get this value for money? I also really liked our host Sue. She was very warm and friendly she always had a smile on her face and was also willing to cook for us which is a definate big plus when you have been travelling. Sue and her husband do everything here and they are creating a very nice place indeed- love the garden and what they have done. We stayed in motel unit 10 (at the end) and it was very spacious we had a mini kitchen and a sitting area so it was a bit like a suite. Wonderfully quiet you can wander around the garden and the different areas as well as go and look at the river and read a bit of the history of the place. The penguin colony is just down the road (take the coast road). It is just on the main highway into Omaru but you would not know that there is a busy road alongside it - a nice little haven. I also liked the old Mill it felt strangely mediteranean and I liked the dining area you do feel a sense of history here - but then I like that and I also like people who really want to be in this business of providing a good service. Thanks Sue we enjoyed the effort that you made and how welcome you made us feel.......this place was a bit of a gem!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandt_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We had a motel unit at the Mill House, which was rather tired, but comfortable. We also viewed a room in the lodge building itself which looked to be much nicer.

The motel unit was of a decent size, but needed some restoration. There were no cooking facilities bar a microwave, and no phone in the room. The hosts were very hospitable and friendly. Breakfast was good, standard bacon and egg etc.

The Lodge is a lovely old restored Mill House immediately off of SH11 about 25 minutes drive South of Oamaru itself. Not too noisy considering its location close to the highway and a railway line. The hotel restaurant is normally closed on Monday's.

Try eating in the Portside restaurant in Oamuru next to the Blue Penguin colony, we had an excellent meal overlooking the harbour.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Really friendly people, not an ideal location, right next to a VERY noisy main road and railway line.

The building and grounds are pretty enough, but the place has a very dated feel, could do with money spent on new interiors etc.

Ridiculously cheap nevertheless. Sad thing is that they could probably charge double if they spent some money updating the place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stairpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Found this property just South of Omaru by mistake. It's a beautiful old, refurbished Mill with wonderful acommodations & a great restaurant.
Hosts couldn't do enough for us. Rooms large, fully equipped.Hot tub on beautiful manicured grounds.
Would go bavk in a heartbeat !

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noumea755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
13.8 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#10 of 18 in Oamaru
197 reviews
15 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
191 reviews
14.3 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
14.3 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
150 reviews
14.7 mi away
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House

Address: 2358 Herbert-Hampden Road, Oamaru 9495, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range: £58 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House is the ideal spot to break your long journey, or a great place to stay while you enjoy the many local attractions. An iconic and well-known building, the Mill House is steeped in history and, whilst recently renovated, still has many of the original features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Mill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing