We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy peaceful haven”
Review of YHA Oamaru

YHA Oamaru
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Oamaru
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy peaceful haven”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a beautiful cosy and clean hostel, much more homely than the bigger YHAs. I was there in October and it was lovely and quiet, I had the whole dorm to myself.
The only downside being I was told the internet cards were for YHA members only so I had to find a cafe with WiFi instead. A bit strange

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
11
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We got there around closing time at the office and apparently they turned some people away since it was empty but I had made a reservation online which they didn't have in the books but the nice lady let us stay and turned on the heaters for us. She showed us around before she left for the night. The room was great. The living room area was nice and had a heater that kept us warm. The kitchen and bathrooms were nice. It was well worth the money. Location is good near the supermarket. Hope I can return someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We too arrived early in the afternoon but there was a sign saying reception opened at 4pm but you could use the facilities to make a drink etc however in our case we could keep our stuff in the car. We had a double room which was so small that we had a problem just getting past our rucksacks. Had to climb into bed from bottom of bed as no room to get in by the side. Kitchen too small for number of people using hostel although lounge was adequate. Kitchen was clean but not very well designed yet probably did the best with the space available. Did not find host very friendly, a bit distant and we regretted our advance booking/payment. The information re latest penquin sightings was helpful although when we saw the yellow eyed the timings were an hour out so not sure just how up to date it was. Hostel a little way from town centre but supermarket within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oamaru hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Horrible service. I booked my stay well in advance and included my arrival time of 11:30am. I was shocked when I arrived to find the office closed with a sign that said "open at 4pm". If you are going to Oamaru, chances are you are going there to see the penguins and view begins at 3:30pm so this was completely unacceptable. A couple guys pulled up when i was waiting and told me their friend lived there. One guy finally came out of the office and said his friend worked there (and was in the office at the time) but that he "would sort me at 4pm". With no where to store my luggage, I left and found a great hostel down the road that was staffed and open for business and I ended up viewing yellow eyed and blue penguins that day :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

One of our favorite backpacker place... it's more like Home Stay. Tidy room, clean bathroom and nice kitchen. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mc-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Only stayed one night, but the hostess was very welcoming and gave us lots of advice about the local area (go to the Moeraki boulders and Geraldine). Room was clean and the lounge/communal area had lots of books and games.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiltonj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I had been here twice, first time I camped on the backyard and now they changed the manager and no more tent site. The bed is quite comfortable and the location is quiet, kitchen is okay, they have a tv room which is quite big and comfortable. Overall, this hostel is clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
13.7 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.6 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Gardens Motel
Eden Gardens Motel
#17 of 18 in Oamaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Oamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Oamaru

Property: YHA Oamaru
Address: Cnr Reed & Cross Streets, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Oamaru, Red Kettle is a small, traditional and homely hostel located close to the Bushy Beach Scenic Reserve and just minutes from the Oamaru town centre and attractive Historic District. Oamaru is a charming coastal town between Christchurch and Dunedin, famous for its Victorian white stone architecture and penguin colonies. Both the blue penguin and the yellow-eyed penguin colonies are within easy walking distance from the YHA Oamaru hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Oamaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing