We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home from Home”
Review of Midway Motel

Midway Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midway Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My wife and I spent four nights during the week of our wedding anniversary. We cannot speak highly enough of Ken and Karen's warm and friendly welcome and helpful attitude throughout our stay. There was even a card and flowers awaiting us on our return to the room on our Anniversary.The accommodation was well furnished and equipped and spotlessly maintained with rooms cleaned and towels changed daily. A bumper sized information book in the room gives a mine of useful orientation and tips, including menus of the main restaurants and local takeaways.

There are a large number of motels vying for your business along Thames Street, the main through-highway which throbs to the roar and clatter of heavy goods vehicles with trailers going to and from Port Chalmers container port, especially during the night when they can drive through unimpeded by other traffic. The huge advantage the Midway has over almost all others is that it lies well back from the road, and additionally double glazed windows guarantee you a totally silent and peaceful night.

A tip - a visit to the penguins is a must, and take Denis's tour. He was instrumental in setting up the Blue Penguin colony, was the original site manager and is a mine of information, related in an easy going modest and humorous way. It is well worth the moderate cost and you get a short tour of the mai9n sights thrown in. Ken will arrange it for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trotter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    37
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
64
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really enjoyed my stay, clean comfortable motel.
Owners are truley lovely. nothing was too hard.
Thanks for a lovely stay
Matt

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhasell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Three of us stayed here in a triple room and were really impressed by the lovely owner and super clean spacious accommodation.

Very handy to walk into town and a very short drive to the penguins and look out point. Would stay again without hesitation.

PS - Oamaru is a lesser publicised gem. Go on a weekend if you can to see the market and eat yummy local produce. Fab fish & chips on the main road into town too, between the motel and town centre.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reedys8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We can recommend Midway Motel, we stayed for 11 nights. Ken and Karen give a first class friendly service, as nothing was too much trouble. We found the accomodation clean, spacious and well located to all local amenities and activities. Stuart and Carole, Sheffield England.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjhclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We had not pre booked this motel and found it by chance the owners originally from the UK had made sure that each suite had a lovely comfortable atmosphere with comfortable arm chairs in each room and a gas fire which we needed after going to watch the blue penguins that evening. We had the best nights sleep ever during our visit the bed was so comfortable.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good it would be difficult to select one in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Although this motel is an older establishment, it has lovely big rooms and is set well back on the main road. It is a 2-storey building and we were upstairs - did not hear much road noise.
It is well-priced and they every conceivable thing you could need in the kitchen, plus a decent sized 'fridge. A queensize bed, plus a single, and two comfy armchairs, kitchen table & chairs. Very clean and tidy.
Most pleasant and helpful owners.
Close enough to town to walk. Parking spaces a bit light on though but no problems whilst we were there.
Oamaru is a nice town and good place to stay - we had 2 nights, saw the penguins and had a lovely meal at a Thai restaurant just over the road.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyBell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West .Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Externally , looks like hundreds of other motels, however, Studios are roomy clean, well equipped whilst location ,though on main street ( set well back ) is very handy to central Oamaru. Managers very " hands on" people, who once met, would convince you to stay with them on any subsequent visits. Very good value so do not hesitate to visit. If pillows not right for you,Karen will offer your choice.
Given good advice on Restaurants ,with our happy choice being Star & Garter or similiar name near waterfront Victorian precinct. (Oldest in Oamaru)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Motel

Property: Midway Motel
Address: 289 Thames Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing