We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of Midway Motel

Midway Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midway Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here. Last time, I left my glasses behind and just forgot to claim them. Karen and Ken kept them for when I next arrived!
After findinding out we would be arriving back at the motel late (travelling back from rugby match in Dunedin), Karen said she would put the heaters on in our unit at 9pm. She would also leave a light on, so we wouldn't be stumbling around in the dark - great service, especially on a cold South Island night!
The banana bread that she brought over for us on arrival was also most welcome.
The unit was spotlessly clean with lovely crisp linen on the beds.
Yes, the units are a bit dated but there is everything you need - full oven, microwave, toaster, jug and shower.
I have been spreading the word and will definitely stay here again! Karen and Ken - you make the difference!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getaway39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Midway Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

A very comfortable and spacious older motel. Very quiet as its off the main road. The Hosts Karen and Ken couldnt do enough for us, even helping out with a ingredient so I could cook our meal. I loved the idea of having a full kitchen, it saved on buying food/eating out. It was also fantastic to be able to have toast in the morning!!!! A lot of places no longer have toasters...Karen was very knowledgeable on what to do in the area, we purchased our Penguin tickets at the Motel. We as a family, would thoroughly recommend people to stay here. We will most definately be returning and will be advising all of our friends in Australia to stay here....

Room Tip: We had the two bedroom unit as my mum has travelled with us, our room easily couldve comfortably sle...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenandEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was an excellent motel, if slightly old-style in bathroom and kitchen layout. Good shower. Very clean throughout and comfortable bed. Has advantage of being set well back from main road with good parking. The service from hostess Karen could not have been better, with advice on places to see and for eating in the town, in addition to very generous assistance with luggage handling. Good WIFI available. Access to upstairs rooms by outside stairway could prove tricky in winter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A very well-maintained 1970s-style establishment around 1.5 km north of the town centre. The motel is in a good position for car access (on State Highway 1), but you hear very little road noise in the room because it's set back from the road. Most of the kitchen and bathroom fittings appear to be original, but it's been so well-kept that everything works just fine. The bed in our room was probably a bit soft for our liking, but this was our only issue with the place.

Karen was really helpful on check-in and check-out, offering dinner suggestions and how to get to various places on our way to Dunedin. If you're after great value and service and don't mind a slightly older-looking place, you will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This motel is tops for service and cleanliness, vicinity and comfort. The hosts go that extra mile to please and make one welcome - even home baking delivered to the unit! Nothing was a bother- I will certainly return!

Room Tip: Upstairs had a pleasant view. No street noise but downstairs easier access.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwigranJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

From the road, just another in a long street full of motels; the difference is the hospitality of the owners. Lots of free car parking, WIFI, very comfortable bed, light and airy room - although a heater and elec. blankets for colder nights. Enjoyed our stay very much

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank GlynnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here having mechanical troubles whilst relocating a vehicle from South to North Islam. Karen and ken could not have been more helpful to me Kiwi hospitality at its best thank you. Would highly recommend to anyone passing through. Even had her homemade cake for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claregalwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
0.5 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
187 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.1 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Motel

Address: 289 Thames Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing