We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel...a real find!”
Review of Oamaru Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Clyde, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great motel...a real find!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

IWe have stayed in many motels in Oamaru which seem to be caught in a 1970's time warp. This is the exception to the rule. Very friendly staff who held onto my bag until later in the day when it could be picked up. Hotel quality sheets, and towels, very comfortable bed. Modern furniture and kitchen and bathroom and spotlessly clean.
Free wifi, great priced breakfasts, 50 sky channels and you can order from local restaurants to be delivered to your room. What more can I say...fully recommend to all!

Room Tip: we were in a back room - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayogirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hello. Thanks for the very kind review which is very much appreciated. Pleased you enjoyed your stay - that's what you pay for! Jude and Marg are running the ship at the moment whilst I "have my feet up" in Clyde and its really pleasing they are doing a wonderful job so the review is most reassuring in more ways than one. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    45
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
93
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our family of five overnight here enroute from Arrowtown to Christchurch. What a great motel. Very friendly and helpful welcome. Rooms are large, modern and spotlessly clean. Beds were extremely comfortable and all enjoyed a great nights sleep. Only regret is we allowed only an afternoon to explore Oamaru which is a charming town, filled with some classic architecture and ocean backdrop. Have no hesitation in thorough recommended the Oamaru Motor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2themacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks very much for the kind review - the girls will very much appreciate it.
Happy to do a two night deal for you to stay that second night so you can have a good look around Oamaru. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We spent a night here in June and had a very comfortable and quiet two bedroom unit on the ground floor. When we arrived the owner had been over and had turned on the heating - a nice touch. She did explain the wall heater had a rattle if we were to use that too. It seemed fine to us. The unit was very clean and well appointed, and we enjoyed our overnight stay. The beds were very comfortable, which is not always the case when you are away from your own bed. A wee touch up of the paint above the shower would be the only thing we could mention but that would be more of a observation than in anyway a negative. We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray-and-Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a great place to stay in Oamaru.

The complex is very new and the rooms are clean and in a great condition.

The staff are also very friendly and accommodating.

If you are going to see the penguins while in town I recommend going for the 'premium' option - is $10 per person more expensive, but you are much closer to the action and get much better views of the penguins coming in on the water and then climbing up the rocks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Helen_Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Corker review thank you very much. Excellent advice regarding the penguins thanks. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is a lovely, well kept motel. Everything is clean and comfortable. We thought it might be noisy because it is on the main road, but we didn't hear a thing and slept beautifully. Check out the Whitestone Cheese factory/cafe. We had breakfast at Vinnies in the town....superb!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - much appreciated. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had booked a studio unit and upon arrival we were upgraded at no extra charge which was totally unexpected and very much appreciated. Our room was spacious, modern, very clean, quite and so comfortable. The kitchen was more than adequate for cooking breakfast the next morning. We loved our stay here and will be staying here on our way through next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Lovely review - thank you. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I have stayed in this motel several times and find it the best value for money. Very modern, exceptionally clean and spacious units with a lovely comfortable bed. Plenty of parking. All the rooms are double glazed so lovely and warm and quiet.
Extremely friendly hosts
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you very much for such a pleasing review. I think I know who you are and it is always a pleasure to host you. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
1.2 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#9 of 18 in Oamaru
186 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.7 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oamaru Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oamaru Motor Lodge

Property: Oamaru Motor Lodge
Address: 391 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand (Formerly 391 Oamaru Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oamaru's superior accommodation complex where "great value is only the begining!!" 15 stylish suites and apartments, double-glazed for quiet and warmth. Spacious studio units sleep couple or twin, double-corner spa baths, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom family apartments, access facilities. All units with tea/coffee-making facilities and microwaves with hotplates and frypans available.Some with fully equipped kitchens with electric range. Lovely bathrooms, king-size beds, electric blankets/heating, work stations, wireless broadband, phone, LCD TVs with 50+ Sky TV channels. Cooked and continental breakfasts. All units are non-smoking with ashtrays provided on outdoor seating directly adjacent unit door. Guest laundry available. Ample off-street parking. Pet friendly by arrangement. Courtesy vehicle. Restaurant 50 metres across road, choice of F & C shops, bakery and retail shops 100 metres from motel. Located on Thames Highway close to A&P showgrounds, Sports Stadium, high schools. Experience the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oamaru Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing