We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room and breakfast”
Review of T-Bar

T-Bar
Ranked #34 of 60 Restaurants in Oamaru
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Cuisines: International
Description: The Totara Bar Public Bar and Dining Room is located in The Brydone Hotel in the heart of Oamaru. Our award winning kitchen offers a number of beautiful dishes from breakfast to dinner.
Restaurant details
Description: The Totara Bar Public Bar and Dining Room is located in The Brydone Hotel in the heart of Oamaru. Our award winning kitchen offers a number of beautiful dishes from breakfast to dinner.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“great room and breakfast”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The full breakfast we had was excellent.Quality was very good and you could have a continental or pay slightly more and choose from about 5 hot meal breaksat items as well. The restored dining room is outstanding.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CliveP-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs a bulldozer to parts of this old girl.”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have stayed here many many times and usually get the honeymoon suites.The time we last checked in, the rooms were taken so we opted for a standard room.Welllllll.......The ceiling in this room I kid you not was around 18ft high and had the most narrow doorways that my wife couldn't get around very well as she is disabled.The room was over 100 years old (seriously) and it hadn't had much of a makeover in it's time, smelled very musty and mouldy.Very old shower which trickled water and sink that smelled old and dirty.The floorboards rickeded everytime you stepped on them and the carpet had worn completely away to reveal the floorboards.The room had no seating or chairs so we had to lie on the bed to watch tv.The food as aways is amazing, the only good thing going for it that night, shame there was no where to eat the meals but our laps.We used to stay here just for the food, but no longer as we now stay at the highfield mews whcih is second to none as far as i'm concerned.They have the most comfortable beds ever.If you get the honeymoon suite you will not be disapointed but as for the rest of it, don't do it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Route66town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully restored bar and dining area, with plenty of options for light and more substantial dining. The service f”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Beautiful presentation of food which was fresh and gormet!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_OAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not bad at all.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Not a bad meal and not over priced either but also nothing really amazing. Nice building though, professional staff running an otherwise decent establishment.

Helpful?
Thank sv3nn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A great place for happy hour”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We did not eat here as there was so much choice locally but the food we saw looked good and the menu good also. We did visit twice for happy hour from 4-30 until 6pm when you get 25% off all drinks. Great house chardonnay settlers hill

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed T-Bar also viewed

Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to T-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing