We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location, massive rooms”
Review of Northstar

Northstar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northstar
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor location, massive rooms”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here, after poor weather stopped me from getting through to Dunedin. The location tho is away from the town centre itself, and walking isnt really an option. The motel promotes its own restaurant, and the two awards it has won, but still there really isnt anything flash about it. I ended up going into town, driving, and getting better value meals in town. THe matress in the king bed i had was two singles put together, and they were different heights, so i had the most uncomfortable sleep ive had in a long time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flopsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    23
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
30
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked this based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed! - we were only there forone night, but got a warm welcome and a lovely unit with the sofa bed all made up for four our 4yr old. Little details like adjustable lamps, fresh filter coffee and a partial division wall between the double and single bed made life very easy. The unit felt nearly brand new and everything was beautifully furnished. The lady on reception was spot on about it being worth paying the extra for the premium tickets to see the penguins , so thank-you. We would definitely stay there again and would have tried the restaurant had it not been closed (anzac day). Thank-you trip advisor, another good recommendation. Just wish I had read the reviews for the Aaron lodge top ten holiday park before we went on to there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I had had a massive day of driving and got to Oamaru and could not drive any further as we were exhausted. As we drove through town we noticed most the motel were full, we drove up and down a few times and then decided to go into this motel as it had a restaurant attached so we didnt have to go anywhere.

We were not expecting much from the outside but the woman that checked us in was so friendly and helpful and then our room was one of our favourites for the holiday, new, clean, modern, well priced & spacious. Then we went down stairs to the bar/restaurant and were even more suprised. We had a great meal with a few drinks and the staff were friendly and efficient.

i would highly recomend a stay here as everything is under the one roof, reasonably priced and we just had a really god experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We pulled into Oamaru around 2 in the afternoon on a Saturday and noticed that most of the lodging was already booked up. I wanted to look around town a little more but we soon turned around and went back to the Northstar after seeing nothing but no vacancy signs and we were so glad we did. Even though the motel is located on the main road, the restaurant fronts the road and motel units are set well away. The place looked almost brand new, with modern, tasteful furnishings, comfortable beds, flat screen tv,, nice bathroom area and a full kitchen. These rooms actually look just like they do on their website. You could even open some of the windows and not invite break-ins. The gals at the front desk were really helpful and friendly. Washing machines were free, $2 for the dryer. It has a large, lighted parking lot. We saw the blue and yellow-eyed penguins, walked the well preserved and vibrant Victorian downtown, and went to the farmer's market. Didn't use the restaurant, but nice to have it and the bottle store on site. Our only wish would have been able to spend more time in this great town and motel. One of the nicest lodgings in our two week NZ stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back. Don't miss the penguins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Massana, Andorra
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Clean & modern motel but poorly designed! Plenty of space in the rooms although layout not well designed & a bit unfriendly. Biggest problem is that they have no wifi (only an old fashioned ip connection) despite being a very new/modern motel. Not ideal for the average ipod/ipad equipped modern tourist! We also found the staff rather 'grumpy'!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludvika, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

When we arrived we found that the bedding arrangement was not what we booked. This meant we had two separate single beds rather than the Queen that we booked.

The way they handled was to "push the two beds together". The beds were left made up as singles and literally just pushed together.

Not sure if this was due to a broken computer booking system or not. They did change the room that we were originally booked in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We had 2 nights at the Northstarmotel in Oamaru in January. The room was spacious, plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids one of whom is 16. Lovely comfy king size bed, fantastic sheets, even coordinating cushions on the bed - a lovely touch. Great sofa which turned into a bed for the teenager. Great bathroom with excellent shower, very roomy. The unit was quiet and extremely clean. The owner was really friendly and helpful Can't think of anything negative to say! Oh, also it was a darn site nicer than the Mercure Hotel in Dunedin!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
2.0 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#8 of 18 in Oamaru
183 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar

Property: Northstar
Address: 495A Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Northstar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing