We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mill House(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar(Oamaru)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midway Motel(Oamaru)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
279
74
10
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
74
10
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathexecutive studiosmall balconyfire stationthe main roadexcellent moteleasy walk into townstainless steelground floor unitstreet noiseflat screen tvsouth islandeasy parkingstayed one nightquiet locationseparate bedroommt cook
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had not pre-booked. It's a new motel and the rooms were spotless. Good location even though on the main road - not a problem with noise, unlike some other motels. Walk into town takes you along that road but it's not too far and you are soon into the main shopping street.

Very helpful people on reception - great local knowledge and good advice for onward travel, based on personal experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here on the 30/6/14 and arrived around 5pm to a warm welcome, the guy at reception had been up and turned the heating on as it was a very cold evening. The room itself is probably one of the best motel units we have ever been in, the decor is sumptuous and the everything sparkled and gleamed. The bathroom is wonderful as well. Thank you for a lovely quiet stay in the nicest motel.

Room Tip: We were at the back upstairs, good views and very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I highly recommend this location as a place to stay when visiting Oamaru. We stayed for two nights and as we hadn't pre-booked we had to change rooms, however the staff made this move so easy that it was barely noticeable. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious, well provisioned and comfortable with free wi-fi and free bottles of milk. All the staff were helpful and friendly and Ross the owner was wonderful. He gave us helpful tips on places to eat out, places to visit and even let us us his BBQ grill one evening. He even checked that we had enjoyed our time there on a number of occaisions. There are two type of rooms and the slightly dearer room has a wonderful spa bath - I highly recommend this option. The location is just a mile from the main town centre on the main highway so easy to locate. When I come back to Oamaru I will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Take a room with a spa bath.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exigeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and one of the main reasons for booking was free wi-fi...which was not provided (a code for 15mins doesn't count in our book!) Apart from that rooms were nice and modern, nearly new infact but bathroom was quite chilly if heater wasn't on (which we didn't want to leave on constantly) good location 15 min walk into town.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldMews, Owner at Highfield Mews, Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to provide our guests with free wi-fi and hard wired internet in each room.

We provide each person with 100MG on arrival which in most cases is more than ample for guest requirements and can last for several hours.

The last two hundred 100MG tickets given out were used for an average of only 36MG each.

If a device is set to do automatic upgrades then this will obviously be used up much faster.

If a guest has any problem at all we are only too happy to help out if we are made aware of a situation.

The Motel Association of NZ (MANZ) recommends that we offer up to 50MG per ticket to allow for some surfing and emailing but not enough for any major downloading as under NZ law we can be prosecuted for any illegal downloads made by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a very spacious Apartment which was beautifully presented. Very clean, spotless Kitchen, well equipped.
Lounge area was beautifully decorated, as were the Bedroom.
In the past have had difficulty finding top accommodation in Oamaru.
Have done now!

Room Tip: I believe all Rooms are to a high standard.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews