We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely small place, yummy food!”
Review of Midori

Midori
Ranked #25 of 60 Restaurants in Oamaru
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: New Japanese restaurant. On site of previous Latitude 45. We also have a new takeaway Sushi bar. Open 10am to 5pm Monday to Friday. We specialise in coffee, smoothies, frappes and much more Restaurant hours are Monday to Wednesday 11am to 3pm, 5pm to 8.30Pm Thursday and Friday 11am to 3pm, 5pm to 9pm. Saturday 11.30Am to 9pm Sunday 12 to 8.30Pm
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely small place, yummy food!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We wouldn't have found the place without our travel guide book, but luckily we did! Reasonable prices and we had excellent Sushi, perfect fresh Salmon Teriyaki & great Chicken Katsu, absolutely loved it!

Helpful?
1 Thank littlepenguin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great little find!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This restaurant is in an unlikely spot, but well worth searching for. The food and service were excellent. I'll be back to try the sushi!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This tiny (what looks like a) family business has become my favourite stop for lunch when travelling through Oamaru. The Japanese restayrant can sit about 25 people inside and a few more outside but it also offers take-aways. It is locared basically on tge wharf, opposite the old rail station. Prices are decent and servings generous. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere homy. Nice little gem.

Helpful?
1 Thank aplescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Poor quality food. Did not resemble anything I have had in Japan. Service was mediocre and included a mix up in orders.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madogvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peeved off....”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I have to admit that we have eaten here once before and the food was tasty enough to come back although the service wasnt that great.
However this time walked out in disgust.
Arrived to have lunch and waitress told us to just take seat anywhere. Waited 45minutes before storming out not happy as she never returned to give menus, take drinks order or anything but in the meantime seated 3 other tables including a larger table of 8 almost right next to our table.
Its only a small restaurant so you couldnt help but notice everyone so why she chose to ignore us.....well who knows.
Not sure if Im prepared to give it another go, perhaps they just need some better front of house staff who know what they are doing to complement the yummy food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasheetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midori also viewed

Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to Midori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing