We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“takes you back in time”
Review of Grainstore Gallery

Grainstore Gallery
Ranked #10 of 32 things to do in Oamaru
Attraction details
SG
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“takes you back in time”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

If you like old buildings, this is someplace you should not miss. enjoyed my quick look around, wish I had more time to explore.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ubermum_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Down Under
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Truly enchanting”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Follow a sign on the street and enter an airy hideaway filled to the rafters with a range of romantic and surreal art. MUST SEE! Worth climbing the flights of stairs, trust me. Items range from $5 to $5000. I'll be back to buy some art.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank eac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So Many Faces”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a gem of an odd gallery, with faces everywhere. always fun and welcoming. We were allowed to wear some papier mache bird heads and it was like dropping into a friend's house while they are having a party.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Checking out Donna Dementhe's work”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Three lots of stairs to get to the top. Some very interesting work by Donna Dementhe and other artists. I liked the subjects with different eyes. Different!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lordyclaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
272 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Scary stuff”
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Got really bad vibes in this place and couldn't wait to exit. Quite weird stuff in here. Didn't really enjoy this one.

Helpful?
2 Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grainstore Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Grainstore Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing