We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gumtree Farmstay
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar(Oamaru)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midway Motel(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mill House(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
57
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarm stayfarm tourgreat farmnew zealandsouth islandminute drivegreat hostsgreat place to staygrantjenniefarmingcowsfeedinglifestylegibsonmuffinsnz
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Jenny and family made us feel right at home. The place was well maintained and extremely clean. We enjoyed the walk around the farm and associated activities. This is a definitive place to stay if you are in that area!
Overall, the most friendly host in our 2 weeks in NZ. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCYChng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie G, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's always heartwarming to hear our guests have enjoyed our stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family of 7 had a very wonderful stay at Gumtree Farmstay with Jennie, Grant and family on 25th feb 2014. It was one of the best & most authentic New Zealand experience we’ve had during our 2 week South Island trip. We had the chance to learn more about farming in Nz, got into really close contact with the sheeps while hand feeding them, bottle-fed milk to the recovering cattle (hope it’ll recover soon!), milked Mathilda and Jennie even made the effort to describe and illustrate to us how the cattles were fed during winter. Really appreciated all the sharing from Jennie!
The location of Gumtree Farmstay was only a 10-min drive away from Oamaru town centre and we could drive out easily to the various attractions/beautiful lookout points.
Jennie did a great job in keeping the lovely house neat and tidy. The rooms were very clean, beds were very comfortable, especially with the electric blankets and everything we needed were readily available. Even though all 7 of us had to share the common washroom, it was no problem at all. The washroom was very well-maintained and spacious.
Not forgetting Jennie’s home-made breakfast which was absolutely delicious!
It was an eye opening experience for all of us city dwellers.
A big thank you to Jennie, Grant, Josh, Kate & Lucie for the memorable farmstay experience. We’d love to be back again, to visit your expanded territory!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scruffzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie G, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We certainly enjoyed meeting your family. Hope we you visit NZ again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We are two couples traveling together and even though our "Gumtree" experience was two days ago, we find ourselves bringing up our fine time with Grant and Jennie and their family frequently. Our two rooms were perfect and we had a private bathroom to share. As educators, we appreciated that they took time from their busy lives to answer our many questions about life on the farm. The kids let us know of their favorite restaurant in town which was right on target. The penguins came ashore for us to see. Jennie provided us with glasses and we enjoyed one of our N. Z. Wines on the back deck before heading into town. The following morning we had a delicious breakfast before more time in town exploring the historic district before heading north. This was a great choice in a lovely little community. This will be one of our long lasting memories when we look back on our trip to New Zealand.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie G, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

It was a pleasure to host you all and it is always wonderful to hear when guests enjoyed their stay here at Gumtree. And Patty I think we just may have to ear tag Alaska for a future holiday!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our large group of mixed ages (7 of us), Grandparents, Parents and young kids stayed for three days in January at Jennie and Grant's wonderful house. I was a bit worried at having my parents and kids impose themselves on another family for that long but Jennie was able to make us all have a brilliant time and put me at ease! Her beautiful kids welcomed my children and shared all their toys (Don't worry Josh - they were very careful not to get your stuff out!). We were able to milk the house cow, shear some sheep with Grant, feed the large hungry lambs, collect chicken eggs and generally have fun on the farm. We also explored Oamaru and even went on trips further afield to Dunedin (day trip). Thanks Jennie for rearranging your family to fit us all in, and for feeding us so well during our stay- it was a highlight of our long trip around the South Island.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie G, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for your great review Shannon. I got a bit of a surprise because Tripadvisor hadn't notified me a new review was placed so it was lovely to stumble across the photos etc! Received a letter from your Mum the other day with the recipe for sauerkraut, so I now have a bucket bubbling away in the laundry and will send her a postcard once I discover whether has worked (or not!!). It was fantastic to have you all stay with us, you're welcome anytime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My friends and I stayed for a night from Christmas Eve till the next morning on Christmas Day. We were definitely won over by Jennie and Grant's warm and generous hospitality. We also had great fun interacting with their 3 kids and Grant's parents. The highlight of the stay would be the close interaction we had with the various farm animals at Gumtree, from feeding the lambs and sheep to milking Matilda, the dairy cow and also eating freshly plucked fruits from their garden. Will definitely choose to stay at Gumtree again if we do visit Oamaru the next time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joleeqh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie G, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a fun and unique experience for us to share Christmas morning with someone other than family! You and your friends will always be welcome back at Gumtree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews