We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak in town.”

The Last Post Pub Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 59 Restaurants in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steak in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Friendly efficient staff serving excellent meals. The rib-eye is just wonderful. All in a beautiful historic building.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank crwolverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    91
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“It was our last hope !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Restaurants tend to close early and we were starving at 8 pm. We found this place to be the only restaurant open and even then we couldn't have a main course as the kitchen was about to close ! Soup and pudding was delicious !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank isijef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Arriving in Oamaru at 9pm, our dinner options were looking pretty dim. Before resigning ourselves to KFC, we decided to take a drive into town. Luckily we stumbled upon this place with its interesting signpost and decided to try our luck. It turned out to be one of the best meals we had during our 10 nights exploring the Southland and Fiordlands. The pub itself had a certain charm. Staff were warm and friendly. Pumpkin soup was delicious and a very generous portion. Steak was cooked perfectly and also quite generous. My friend and I shared this order. I love good soup as much as I love a good steak. I dare say that both meals were amongst the best I hv had and would certainly return to The Last Post the next time i travel through Oamaru

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“OK bar and dinner option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had a few beers and dinner here, Place was packed, beers were good, staff friendly with good quality, good value food. Locals and tourists all enjoying themselves.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were in Oamaru on a weekend away and wanted a really nice meal to celebrate so wandered around looking for a menu that suited us, we settled on the Last Post.
A very busy night when we ate but staff coped and were friendly.
We both ordered the fillet steak medium-rare. It was delicious, cooked to perfection and the best steak I have eaten in a long time, it was more tender than the portabello mushrooms it was served with. I'm not kidding - my husband ate it without his teeth in!
Compliments to the chef!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Last Post Pub Restaurant also viewed

Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to The Last Post Pub Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing