We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“treated like family”

The Last Post Pub Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 59 Restaurants in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“treated like family”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

You would be hard pressed to find a more obliging host than Heather. We were so well catered for, and because we felt like pasta but didn't want the mushrooms, Heather said you can have what ever pasta dish you like (ingrediants permitting)...I have never been to a restaurant where they are so willing to please. The food was very tasty, and we would certainly recommend The Last Post to all visitors to Oamaru.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misfortune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    91
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Oamaru Motor Lodge and had a meal delivered from the the Last Post Restaurant. They were very good and made a special meal for my partner who is lactose and gluten intolerant. He had a baked fish with chips and salad. I had the grilled salmon fillet and that was beautifully cooked. The food was lovely and we would recommend them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Great meal and portion size. Had fillet steak cooked to perfection,definitely recommend this Restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank SHIVDOG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It was St Patricks Day and everyone appeared to be enjoying the occasion. The meal was very nice and the service couldnt be faulted.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RossR696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterfield, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks for a great evening”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Loved the service...atmosphere...food was very good...servings huge. Coped very well with our group of 23.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 180BernieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Last Post Pub Restaurant also viewed

Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to The Last Post Pub Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing