We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2 Thumbs up for comfort!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of B&B The Sheep Out

Front veranda from garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front veranda from garden
Front veranda Veranda towards parking area entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Front veranda from garden
Front veranda
Veranda towards parking area entrance
Front veranda
ensuite bedroom
Dining kitchenette
Sheep Out Guesthouse
Front verandah
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Oamaru, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SunnyandJ...
Glenwood City, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 Thumbs up for comfort!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Arriving bone tired, my husband wanted to go look for penguins and I just wanted to drop dead! So he left and I crawled into bed and slept - waking up to a beautiful day and after a good sleep - we appreciated the opportunity to have a peaceful morning without fuss or traffic! This is a small farm and very clean with friendly farm animals (and dogs.)

The accomodations were clean and homey with charming personal touches. We'd definitely recommend it to our friends :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet and no-fussiness
Liked least: no screens but it seems few places in NZ have them?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Hello sunny and jim, thankyou both so much for staying with us and really glad you enjoyed yourselves.
I am so sorry to have missed saying goodbye. Take care and travel safely. Kind Regards sally and phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary R
South Dakota, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Four of us travelled to Oamaru and found this lovely bed and breakfast. The place was immaculately clean and we all enjoyed a restful night in the heart of this lovely 80 acre ranch. Just like traveling in New Zealand, walking through Sally's lovely garden in the morning was full of wow and ah moments. Her attention to detail was evident during our entire stay.

We were also very lucky to be able to experience Phil and his incredible team shearing sheep-one of the highlights of my trip to the South Island.

If you want a place that is quiet, beautiful and comfortable, look no further.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
We were lucky to meet a wonderful group of people. A pleasure to have. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The warmth of Sally's welcome was the first indication that The Sheep Out B&B was going to give us the the most wonderful farewell gift at the end of our 2+ weeks touring the southern part of the South Island, NZ. The best bed provided two night's good slumber; breakfast supplies were more than ample; Sally's special delivery of crackers, local camembert cheese, tomato slices and chutney were enjoyed sitting in the afternoon sun on our own private verandah overlooking Sally's magnificent garden, watching the sheep and the peacocks and the little horses and hearing the birds. Two rooms (bedroom and sitting room) provided heaps of space and comfort. Thanks Sally and Phil for your generosity and sharing your property with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, comfortable bed, plenty of space and great hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing