We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and roomy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“comfortable and roomy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed just one night here but would defiantly recommend to anyone.We had a one bedroom unit which was clean and spacious with a great kitchen, bed very comfortable. Owner very friendly and helpful. Had a lovely nights stay and got to see the little blue penguins.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20Feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    37
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
64
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for just the one night on April 26th.. Were shown to our unit by the friendliest owner, and given fresh muffins, which was lovely! Our unit was super clean and tidy, and I had the best sleep I have had for ages in the most comfortable king size bed. Great value, and lovely place. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Oamaru - and a great value. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, even giving us home-cooked muffins when we checked in. We would definitely recommend it to anybody staying in Oamaru.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were with two friends and shared a double room unit. It was very clean and had lots of space for four. We were given a great welcome with muffins and all the info needed to make the best of Oamaru. Would certainly stay here again if we are visiting Oamaru in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Spent the night at this delightful motor lodge on 26th Jan 2014. It was spacious, clean and the best we experienced on our travels around NZ. The proprietors couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, even serving us with warm muffins on wet and miserable afternoon. Can thoroughly recommend it as a place to stop over.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Well presented rooms and excellent hosts. On arrival we even got a muffin each. They were very helpful with ideas on things to do. They wanted to know how our dining went at a new restaurant so they could pass that info on. The room was quiet even though the motel is on a main road. Bed was excellent. We have noted them in our phones as we will be back here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Voodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was a nice little motel on the main road out of Oamaru. The room was big enough with comfortable bed, was clean and had all the basic equipment you would expect of a motel room with kitchenette. I'd have preferred more comfortable chairs and a second armchair, but that's not enough to bring score down below a 5.

The owner is very friendly and cooks great muffins!

Room Tip: We were in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith_Walker_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.7 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#10 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Lodge

Property: Ambassador Motor Lodge
Address: 296 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing