We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed recently for 3 nights with our 3 grown up sons in a 2 bed unit. Very, very clean accommodation and everything we needed was in the unit including a spa bath. The proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Neville was very pleasant with a good sense of humour and his wife bakes some great muffins! Heater was good in coping with the Kiwi winter and we also had an electric blanket. We would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    39
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
66
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As regular visitors to Oamaru, this was first time to this motel.
We were greeted by cheerful Chris who was most obliging as she took us to our unit. The muffins were appreciated too with a cuppa after our long drive. We had visitors due for tea and Chris saw to it that we had the extra utensils required. The unit was immaculately presented together with a clean comfortable bed. As a Studio unit it had adequate space for comfort.
For corporate use, some lighting over the desk would help and unfortunately we were unable to connect to Zenbu signal for wi-fi. Motel is located very handy to the business centre
Chris was a delightful and able host and we would be happy to return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob and Di H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai china
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just for one night.
Well presented rooms and excellent hosts. On arrival we even got a muffin each and milk.
The room was big enough with comfortable bed, clean and had all the equipment
Bath room for me a little interesting with the shower and interior.
Free parking.
next time must stay more nights

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyjinlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed just one night here but would defiantly recommend to anyone.We had a one bedroom unit which was clean and spacious with a great kitchen, bed very comfortable. Owner very friendly and helpful. Had a lovely nights stay and got to see the little blue penguins.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20Feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for just the one night on April 26th.. Were shown to our unit by the friendliest owner, and given fresh muffins, which was lovely! Our unit was super clean and tidy, and I had the best sleep I have had for ages in the most comfortable king size bed. Great value, and lovely place. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Oamaru - and a great value. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, even giving us home-cooked muffins when we checked in. We would definitely recommend it to anybody staying in Oamaru.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were with two friends and shared a double room unit. It was very clean and had lots of space for four. We were given a great welcome with muffins and all the info needed to make the best of Oamaru. Would certainly stay here again if we are visiting Oamaru in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.7 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Lodge

Property: Ambassador Motor Lodge
Address: 296 Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bret and Christine welcome you to Ambassador Motor Lodge situated at the north end of the Oamaru Central Business District. At our 11-unit motel we strive to offer the best in comfort and hospitality, offering home-baked muffins to all guests on arrival. As we have both travelled extensively we feel we have good insight to travellers' needs and are happy to assist with itineraries if required. We are a Qualmark 4-star rated property and have been awarded 'Bronze' under the Qualmark Sustainable Tourism criteria Our room layouts comprise studio, 1 and 2-bedroom units, 6 with spa baths. All are ground-floor and smoke-free. Off-street-parking at your unit door. Cooked, continental and light breakfasts delivered to your unit on request. We provide free unlimited Wireless Internet for our guests, Sky 50+ channels TV and corporate charge back facilities from most of the popular local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing