We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Nelson”

Customhouse Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Customhouse Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #49 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Nelson”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Marcus the owner was one of the most helpful and kindest guys I have ever meet. He will go out of his way to make sure you get everything you need. The kitchen was a little bit dirtier then normal but that was because of the back packers. He stayed up late just to make sure it was as clean as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed unstairs in the main part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCanadaianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
12
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundun
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The custom house is filled with unbelievably chill, cool people. I highly recommend going there, plus nelson has awesome weather, and good bud.

Room Tip: Go long term... saves you money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Lovely hosts. Really clean rooms. We had an ensuite and it was all brand new and very clean. Compared to other hotel / bnb rates in Nelson this was the cheapest and best by a mile. It is located a bit out of the way, but nice for a visit to the Boat Shed, which is a quality restaurant nearby on the waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We found this place by coincidence and had a great surprise. It is clean, comfortable and well decorated so it has a great feel. We really felt at home here. The kitchen facilities to cook your own food are "restaurant" quality. The owner was great... we enjoyed his company, sharing with us all sort of stories. The beer was also a plus, great beer on tap. I must say that we had the place pretty much for ourselves, so it was kind of quiet in our experience. We were sorry only to spent a night here, but would surely be back since it was by far much better value than other places we stayed previously at Nelson in our opinion.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

this place is run by lovely people and if you want to party and have a fun time stay here, if you want to sleep go elsewhere because it is very noisy

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postiemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Being relatively new, the Custom House is a very clean and comfortable place to stay. Marcus the owner makes you feel very welcome and has decked the place out with decent furnishings and fittings. Funky artwork hangs on the walls.
It has all the facilities you need, parking, free washing machines, SKY on the large flatscreen TV, free internet, pool table, full bar and lots of corners to socialise or get away from others to read a book etc.
The dorms are tidy and with new linen. I stayed in both a 6 and 4 bed dorm. Go for the 4 if you can as they are single beds not bunks. The place provides sheets, duvets, towels and even a bar of soap.

Only downsides are that it is a little walk to town (10 mins) and can be a little noisy both inside the hostel and outside on the road/at the port right next door.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bunks
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ollyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.0 mi away
Downtown Backpackers & Accommodation
1.0 mi away
Aurora Backpackers
Aurora Backpackers
#34 of 42 in Nelson
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Apartments
Harbour View Apartments
#16 of 42 in Nelson
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wakefield Quay House
Wakefield Quay House
#4 of 55 in Nelson
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Customhouse Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Customhouse Backpackers Hostel

Property: Customhouse Backpackers Hostel
Address: 252 Haven Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Customhouse Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Custom House in sunny Nelson, New Zealand. Situated along Nelson's beautiful waterfront and port. We offer budget boutique and quality backpacker accommodation. The historic Custom House building has recently been completely refurbished in a retro contemporary style with affordable rooms, great facilities and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Customhouse Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing