We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VILE with a capital V”

Customhouse Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Customhouse Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #49 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“VILE with a capital V”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The only place we had to check out of within minutes during a 7 week car tour of both Islands. We booked through Booking.com and complained to the service by phone afterwards. They told us that noone inspects the facilities they advertise and they are dependent on owners information. We also stopped payment on our cc after the owner refused to reimburse the full amount of our payment. He was willing to negotiate partial recompense and wanted to barter. We took part of our money back in cash and then stopped payment fot the rest.The pictures on the Booking.com site are false. The place is more of a combo of SRO and migrant workers camp. The owner rents long term to farm workers. There are mud and other material encrusted workboots in all the hallways.The kitchen is filthy disgusting, the refrigerator smells like something died in it years ago, the supposed bar is a storage area, the only washing machine had dirty laundry stacked from floor to ceiling waiting to be washed and the place looks like it should be on The Hoarders tv show. The entire facility is waterfront but overlooking and right next to the shipping container port for Nelson ( certainly not on the website pictures) The car park was filled with cars for sale like a used car lot. When we spoke to the Isite the person said that they had many complaints this year about the place and gave us the head of the Isite to speak with. She told us she would bring the matter up with the town council. For an additional $15 NZ we checked into a wonderful ensuite B&B down the road a ways called Haven House. It was spotless, upscale and charming.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
12
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at the hostel for some weeks, as we were working (cafe/bar and fishing industry).
We had a blast with the other backpackers, as most of them were staying long term and working too.
Nelson is a great time for hanging around, partying, enjoying life. If you feel like just relaxing, the custom house offers a lot of dvd's, pool billard, and some great people for talking. The kitchen is big but often jammed with people. Bike hire is for free.
So if you're looking for some work to earn some travel money, Nelson's the place to be and the custom house is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becruised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I would strongly recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Nelson. The staff and manager are relaxed and friendly and the hostel has a great atmosphere.

There is plenty to do including a tv room with loads of films, a pool table, computer games and free wifi.

The rooms are clean and comfy.

Great location right near the beach as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Might be friendly but this place could be so, so much better. Lovely building but needs a good clean... dirty dishes are piled up in the office, bathrooms are dirty, bedrooms need a good clean.... What can you say when there is a pregnancy test box and sanitary towels in the communal bin in the bathroom

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammybelfast0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson hotels

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

My partner and i have both worked in hospitality for a long time in canada and NZ and having travelled all over new zealand and staying at all levels of hotel, motel and backpackers lodges The Custom House and its proprietor Marcus know and embody the true meaning of hospitality! right from our arrival marcus was extremely welcoming and helpful and as we were very late arriving even offered to make us something to eat from his own food! he gave us a full tour of the property and showed us how to use the entertainment system which included a fantastic selection of movies, movie channels and even video games! he helped us park our car which was also off-street and free! the rooms were a nice size with en-suite sinks and the whole place was very clean and tidy. i can't give enough praise about this guy and his property! well done mate! and thanks again from ron and mel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckkiwi7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed in the custom house for 2 weeks, make me feel like home here!
and Macus is a really really nice person, he helped whatever I need!
I will come back if I have chance to go back to NZ!
highly recommended;DD

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Marcus the owner was one of the most helpful and kindest guys I have ever meet. He will go out of his way to make sure you get everything you need. The kitchen was a little bit dirtier then normal but that was because of the back packers. He stayed up late just to make sure it was as clean as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed unstairs in the main part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCanadaianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Apartments
Harbour View Apartments
#18 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.2 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nelson Beach Hostel
Nelson Beach Hostel
#24 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wakefield Quay House
Wakefield Quay House
#4 of 55 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtesy Court Motel
Courtesy Court Motel
#26 of 55 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Customhouse Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Customhouse Backpackers Hostel

Property: Customhouse Backpackers Hostel
Address: 252 Haven Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Customhouse Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Custom House in sunny Nelson, New Zealand. Situated along Nelson's beautiful waterfront and port. We offer budget boutique and quality backpacker accommodation. The historic Custom House building has recently been completely refurbished in a retro contemporary style with affordable rooms, great facilities and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Customhouse Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing