We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
143 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Usually not a fan of backpacker places, but this place made us change our minds. Nelson as a city is absolutely lovely, and the hostel i located only a five minutes walk from the centre. We stayed in a double room, which was located on the first floor. On ground floor you have a very big and well equipped kitchen, and lots of space for just hanging out.

The room was clean and pretty decorated, with a bed, table and chair. Towels were provided. On the first floor we had two toilets for ladies, and two for men. There were three showers. A laundry room was located on the ground floor with several washing machines and dryers. Free bike rentals and help with different bookings.

The hostel has a little garden were herbs are grown that you can use for cooking. The reception staff/owners are very nice. Uli, who was there when we were there was really helpful and nice. You always feel like you can come to them if there are any problems what so ever.

8 o'clock every night, they serve home made chocholate pudding with vanilla ice cream!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    59
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
85
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

One of the best backpackers I've ever been. Clean, new rooms. Delicious free pudding in the evening and very friendly staff. It takes about 15 minutes walking to the city center and around one hour to the beach. No free internet (which is the most usual in NZ, in any case). Anyway, this is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego California, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

we got a room with private bathroom. room was very clean and well maintained. room was located at the back of the facility and wasnt very easy to get to with our bags. other than that no complaints. was a bit noisy at night and in the morning, but thats was expected.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soakuptheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

A truly lovely little hostel. Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a big 6 week trip around Aus and NZ. Over the trip we stayed in a mixture of very posh hotels to uber cheap hostels. We both agreed that this place was one of our most favourite places of the whole holiday!

We stayed in the double ensuite room which is round the back of the building with its own little patio. The room was nice and clean, the bed verrry comfy and the bathroom, whilst basic, was more than suitable for what we needed it for. The room only cost £40 a night which we thought was really good value for money.

What we thought was so lovely about Tasman Bay was the atmosphere the owners and managers created. They clearly loved running this place and wanted everyone to feel very much at home. There was a free self serve breakfast and chocolate pudding at night which I thought was a really nice touch and encouraged people to socialise a bit more than you sometimes find in larger hostels (though it was totally fine just to keep yourself to yourself and read a book by the fire too!)

It was about a 15 minute walk into quiet Nelson and there was lots of free parking space on the street outside.

Would highly recommend this hostel, it's got a lovely welcoming atmosphere that would suit both solo travellers and couples alike and is a really nice place to come back to after a day exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Student123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed in a spacious 4-bed dorm, which I lucked out and had to myself, for 1 night while checking out Nelson and I'd be happy to stay again. The entire place was clean and very comfortable. The chocolate pudding was tasty and really is a great way to get people in the hostel together to socialize for a bit. The free winter breakfast was also a nice touch, but nothing spectacular by any means. The location is good, being only a 5 minute walk to the center of town, and offering plenty of on- and off-street parking.

My only criticisms would be that the window in my room wouldn't close properly on its upper seal, thus letting the heat out and the little bit of traffic noise in. The mattress was also a bit worn out, such that I could feel the wood underneath it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I stayed in off-season, so the place was pretty quiet [ hour later checkout in the winter is a bonus!] was thrilled to be given a 4bed dorm to just myself and my friend, then spent the afternoon reading our books and chatting with other guests around the roaring wood fire.

Fantastic kitchen, the type that made you want to spend time in there and actually cook things that take time to create! Free spices, etc. Then best of all was free chocolate pudding, chocolate sauce and ice-cream served at 8pm, it was out of this world, amazing pudding!! It made my week!
Great chilled out friendly atmosphere, lots of board games. Apparently there is free wifi but I did not discover this in time to get a voucher to use on my laptop.. there is a regular internet computer too for the non-laptopped.

Our room was fine, quite cold but it didn't matter as we had 2spare bed so just doubled up on the duvets. This is a fantastic, friendly, homely hostel and I wish I had been able to stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imolimolimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

In April of 2010 two friends and me made a trip around the south island during our school holiday. Nelson was our last stop and we stayed in the Tasman Bay Backpackers for 2 nights. It is a really clean and cosy hostel and the staff is very nice. They picked us up from the bus stop and really made everything so that the guests feel comfortable. In the evening they serve free delicious chocolate pudding and we also had free breakfast in the morning (which they offer in the winter season). It was one of the best hostels we stayed in and I would definitely recommend it to everybody who is looking for a great hostel in nelson. they really try to improve and just sent me an e-mail that they have read my feedback form and now improve things I thought were not perfect (not enough power sockets in the rooms). that shows how much they care. great hostel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emil_ratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.6 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#4 of 42 in Nelson
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasman Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasman Bay Backpackers

Property: Tasman Bay Backpackers
Address: 10 Weka Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tasman Bay Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fire is roaring, the atmosphere's relaxed, the hostel's warm, spacious yet homely. Just like your favourite café - great music, friendly, genuine people. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Inner sprung mattresses throughout the hostel. Free All you can eat Winter Breakfast (May to November). Free Wireless internet (April to November). Free use of bikes for exploring. Off-street parking. Central but quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tasman Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasman Bay Backpackers Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing