We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Prime site on the Port Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimberley House

Kimberley House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimberley House
Ranked #26 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Prime site on the Port Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Nelson area is perfect for those who like outdoor living combined with quality local facilities & the 3 bed apartment is an excellent base with marvellous viewing.
The apartment is well equipped but one oe two things need 'refreshing'.
I am sure James & Richard will be attending to these in their usual friendly & efficient manner.

Joy & Andy Pearson

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andyp7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePunaWaiLodge, Manager at Kimberley House, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Many thanks to andyp for his feedback. It's true there were things which needed to be attended to, especially carpet & window cleaning. Back to back long-term bookings had given us no opportunity to have things done between parties &, once they'd arrived, the guests preferred to have their time - in the apartment - undisturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Amazing views and a very spacious apartment.
Extremely well appointed and providing everything you require for a self contained holiday.
Would recommend to family and friends and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChCh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were originally booked in another apartment however access was compromised due to the floods and slips and the managers very kindly accomodated us at Kimberley House. It was an excellent apartment, well sited with everything we needed. Absolutley fabulous views over the harbour and close to town and all amenities. Very clean and well stocked.We couldn't wish for more and really appreciated the hosts going out of their way to ensure we had a place to stay over the holiday period. Thank you James and Richard.We will definitley return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayPChCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were upgraded to the 3 bedroom apartment and were extremely pleased once we arrived and saw the view - WOW!. The apartment was huge and has everything you'll need for a short or long stay. We will return and will recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I guess I had certain expectations after seeing photos on the booking website. The reality was the view from the deck was all trees, very close. Maybe my fault for expecting a view, but I was very disappointed not to get one. Apartment was clean and had everything you would need, but there was some maintenance required - rubbish bin was broken, missing coffee cup, bathroom door sticky, bathroom fan didn't appear to work (seemed damp and musty in there) lots of light-bulbs missing. Walking distance to some very nice restaurants. Could also have used a bit more information on things to do locally.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G-Hag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

During our visit in the Abel Tasmen/ Nelson area, I stayed at this apartment with my partner and a few extended family members. It was located on a hillside residential area in between Nelson city and Tahunanui. It was not a close walk (relatively speaking) to either but some of us did walk. There were a handful or excellent restaurants within walking distance though, including the famous Boat Shed Cafe. Excellent food.

We were booked in apartment #3, the largest and on the top floor. There were three cozy bedrooms (two queen beds and one with 2 twins), two ensuite bathrooms and one larger separate bathroom, a comfortably appointed living/dining room, a laundry room, a well stocked kitchen and cable television.

Upon arrival, there were fresh cut flowers on the dining table. What a nice touch.
We were also pleasantly surprised by the fruits and basic provisions that were stocked in the kitchen. Did I mention the view? The large balcony off the living area provided an expansive view of the Tasman bay. There was even a binocular for us to take in the boats that came in. Wi-fi Internet conveniently available at a small price.

The apartment was very tidy, we did not utilize the cleaning service during our stay. All in all we had a fantastic stay. Out of all the accommodations on our month-long trip, this apartment felt most at home.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

Lovely view overlooking harbour entrance, wonderful luxurious accommodation, spacious, modern, good laundry facilities. Large and well equipped living area and balcony. Would love to have stayed there much longer.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Customhouse Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Wakefield Quay House
Wakefield Quay House
#4 of 55 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley House

Property: Kimberley House
Address: 25 Victoria Road | Stepneyville, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimberley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley House offers three apartments (1, 2 & 3 bedroom) superbly located in a quiet, tree-lined street within a minutes walk of Nelson’s excellent waterfront dining and a five-minute drive to the town centre. The 3-bedroom apartment has panoramic views of Tasman Bay. The property is managed by James and Richard of Te Puna Wai Lodge, Nelson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Kimberley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing