We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I've always heard great things about the Monaco Resort as an award winning hotel and wanted to try it out. We were very pleased to know that it lived up to its name and promise. The warm welcome by Jo set the tone of an enjoyable stay - even for 1night only. Jo was very patient, accommodating and just friendly!. The resort has a jeweller, a hair salon, a swimming pool which I enjoyed very much and a very elegant restaurant. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment which was a plus but only used 1 bedroom. The apartment was fully furnished and had all the conveniences required whilst you are on holiday. If ever in Nelson, the Grand Mercure Monaco comes very highly recommended, as it is strategically located - the airport nearby and just a 10 minute drive from the heart of the CBD. Thank you again to Nicole, Clare and the team for such an excellent experience and hope to visit again soon and stay longer!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank procritic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive guest feedback and we appreciate your comments.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am very pleased to hear you found Jo so friendly and helpful. We are truly proud of all our Team Members and I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to them also.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    329
    94
    32
    19
See reviews for
171
454
40
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I recently stayed in a two bedroomed apartment with my wife and parents. The staff were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble, especially when it came to looking after my elderly parents needs. The apartment was well appointed and spacious. The whole complex is well maintained and the gardens are exceptional. We would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco, and sharing your feedback with your fellow travelers. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with the whole complex and especially the gardens. We do pride ourselves in our gorgeous gardens and the Team work very hard to maintain these all year round.
I am very pleased to hear you have found the staff pleasant and professional. I will pass these wonderful comments onto our Teams and will look forward to welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

While Nelson was a lovely place to visit the hotel rooms were lacking in some important things. Firstly the rooms were quite small, no luggage stands, so the suit cases were on the floor. The bathrooms were very small and there was no fridge to keep drinks cool. The staff were excellent and friendly, the restaurant menu was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco, and sharing your feedback with your fellow travelers.

I see you stayed with us in one of our Standard Hotel Rooms. These do not have in-room fridge facilities or an obvious luggage hold-space. The hotel holds 20 Standard Rooms and these guest rooms do have access to 2x communal semi-kitchen and lounge spaces located on both floors of the Hotel where there is a small fridge to place any items you may require cooled.
We have 65 One and Two Bedroom Cottages which have separate living and dining areas and a small kitchette. Perhaps on your next visit you may like to book one of these rooms to really experience the full atmosphere and ambience of our Resort.

I am very pleased to hear you have found the staff pleasant and professional and that you enjoyed your dining experience with us in The Orangerie Restaurant. I will pass these wonderful comments onto our Teams and will look forward to welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I've never seen so many stars as I did from the courtyard here. We truly enjoyed our visit. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only drawback was the fee for wireless internet. That was a little frustrating. Regardless, the location feels like a retreat. We enjoyed this with another couple and their two small children. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travelers.

Due to the internet costs in the Hotel and as we source this service from an external provider we are currently unable to offer free internet. We are currently looking into options where we may be able to reduce the cost or offer internet inclusive packages.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience as it is through your comments we are able to make improvements to the hotel and the service we provide. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Rooms excellent for size. Bit dark and noisy with tiled floors. Few cobwebs . Great shower.
Kitchen bit small and not planned to well. Needed a bigger bin to recyle. Small blind needed to front door for privacy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco, and sharing your feedback with your fellow travelers. We appreciate your feedback regarding the lighting and tiled floors and will look into ways to illumine the room to make brighter and look into supplying a larger Recycle Bin when we next look at refurbishing the Hotel.

I have passed your comments regarding the noted cobwebs in your room onto our Executive Housekeeper who is currently in the process of arranging a full ‘bug spray’ in all of our Hotel rooms. This is very difficult given the high occupancy we maintain, but appreciate this is an imperative action and aim to have this spraying completed in the next few weeks.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

When we first arrived in our room we felt it was quite dark inside so we moved to the Riverside apartments which were a lot brighter. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the only issue is that when we changed rooms (just in other side of drive) we were not told that it would cost more.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Custombilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our Resort spacious, clean and comfortable. We are very proud of our ‘English Village’ feel and love that you also enjoyed this special touch. We do in fact have a wonderful Restaurant and Bar - The Orangerie; on site and this is open for both Breakfast and evening meals including pre-diner drinks. I am very sorry you did not get a chance to experience our delicious menu and sample some of our sumptuous beer and wines. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future where you can delight in our Restaurant ambience and atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here with my family while roadtripping the South Island and I still think about how amazing, beautiful and comfortable it is. I would absolutely come back!

Room Tip: The family two bedroom is the homiest, most comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottokwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing