We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I found this place through a Google search and much like the advertisements it is lovely. I would liken it to a quaint little town somewhere in Europe. The apartments are broken up by small tiled alleyways and lined by pretty garden beds. The host was a lovely South African lady (I hope I picked that up right) who was very hospitabitable, gave me a free room upgrade which is always a very nice touch. My room was situated at the far right side of he complex and what a room i was. I was here on a work trip so I didn't require too much space but the room was a decent size for a couple or a small family. Everything was clean from top to bottom, especially the bathroom. The kitchenette equipped with fridge, stove top and cooking equipment. My lounge had a view a cute little alleyway and a little jewellery shop. My room also had two tvs one in the bedroom and one in the lounge. The pool, spa and gym were not too far away, perhaps a 1 min walk. I used the gym but some of the equipment wasn't working (the treadmill buttons seemed to be broken and the bike seat I couldn't adjust) but still a very nice area.To top it all off I had a very enjoyable sleep on my last night, so the beds are very comfortable and so were the pillows.

I loved the feeling of the place, clean, warm and quaint. My only disappointment was the wifi, it always cut out but it was manageable.

Thanks for keeping a high standard for such a great pace. It made my stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arihia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback i am sorry to hear about the wifi we will be looking into this with our IT contractor, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had missed our flights so needed a place to stay at a moments notice close to the Airport, The staff were great, polite and very helpful, made everything a breeze from a superb dinner in the Restaurant to a free mini bus the next morning back to the Airport. I would highly recommend this venue to all, Very relaxing atmosphere and a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I recently co-ran an event at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments and it was fantastic. While there were some teething difficulties in staff change over for us organisers prior to the event happening (make sure you have things in writing!!!!), when we were actually there running the event, it couldn't have been better! The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were wonderful and the setting amazing (you feel like you've walked out of 'normality' and into a whole new little world, it's stunning!).

The staff, particularly Kat were incredible and bent over backwards to make our experience a wonderful one. When things went wrong (as inevitably they do), the staff really pulled all stops to ensure that we could remedy the problem and get back to 'normality'.

The kitchen/restaurant staff were who we went to when we had any issues and all of them were helpful, smiling and eager to make our experience a good one. I really couldn't fault a single one of them.

Our attendees raved about the setting, rooms and event as a whole and for the event we were running, it wouldn't have been the same for us if we'd had it somewhere else.

We had people stay on after our event and the feedback was just as good for them as 'individuals' as it was for us as an event.

Our only criticism was that on the Sunday the paperbag lunch we ordered was feeling a little 'stale', I wonder when it was made?

But really, that was just a little blip on the radar.

The setting is right across from the sea and makes for a wonderful place to take a walk and the view across the mountains is so peaceful and relaxing. The airport is close which is both a bonus and a hindrance as you are close so after a flight it's quick to get to your hotel, but you do have occassional noise from planes (not that anyone really noticed this).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your comments about The Grand Mercure Nelson and The Orangerie Restaurant , it is really appreciated. I will be sure to pass these on to our team as they enjoy receiving feedback. We truly aprecited your understanding regarding our change of staff due to maternity leave.
It was fnatastic to have your group stay with us and great that you were able to hold such a fantastic event here in the sunny Nelson region .

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Grand Mercure Monaco in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed one night at the apartment. We had a double storey terrace house all by ourself. The environment of the place is very serene. The apartment is well-furnished. We had two rooms on the first floor. We had a lounge and well-equiptment kitchen on the ground floor. A beautiful resort for a family of four.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipsengtan_frps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lovely place to stay, super helpful staff and accommodation was spotless. We really enjoyed the peaceful setting and the whole atmosphere of the place. It was handy to local amenities and also the walking and cycling tracks.

Room Tip: The Chalets are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie-Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Nelson in the near future.


Kind Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I travel a lot with business so will just list pros and cons from a buisness traveller perspective

Pros are clean comfortable rooms, good staff, food

Cons are really bad WiFi reception that you actually have to pay for! Bad for free u put up with but bad and have to pay for is a real put down for the venue. The location at the end of the airport runway I can live with given small planes but the venue is certainly not central!

Room Tip: If u value WiFi choose somewhere else. If you Leontief use Wifi and want a quiet clean room or apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Testing123Testing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback i am sorry to hear that you had an issue with the wifi as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services,we are looking into this with our IT contractor. We have just installed a new wifi system throughout the property and we are looking to offer this service free for the coming summer once all costs have been covered, however we are now offering some online packages with free wifi. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Monaco and sunny Nelson in the near future

Kind Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

After accidently booking this for the wrong date, I was in a big panic to try and fix it (although my booking was non refundable) the staff were very friendly and helpful and changed it for us once we had got there (they easily could have said no, but you get better service out of hotels like this one)
We were given our room key and went to our room- it was beautiful. We had booked a basic room and got given one with a giant bathroom, lounge with tv and music player, kitchen with a washing machine and a big bedroom. We had temperature dials in our room and heaters too, so if you like your heat, that is a big bonus.. or if you get too hot you can cool the room down on the temperature dial!
It was very clean. Also a great location for the airport (a 15-20 minute stroll away so you save on getting the shuttle)
Thank you very much, wish we had stayed here longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
490 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#8 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £52 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing